Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Barton County, Missouri

Barton County

Barton County was created on December 12, 1855 from Jasper County. The county was named in honor of U.S. Senator David Barton (1783-1837), one of the first senators from Missouri .

The Barton County Seat is situated in Lamar and in addition the county government website is

Areas surrounding Barton County include Vernon County (north), Cedar County (northeast), Dade County (east), Jasper County (south), Crawford County, Kansas (west).

Cities and towns to be found in Barton County include Golden City, Lamar, Liberal, Mindenmines , Burgess , Lamar Heights , Milford .

Townships located inside of Barton County include Barton City Township, Central Township, City Township, Doylesport Township, Golden City Township, Lamar Township, Leroy Township, Milford Township, Nashville Township, Newport Township, Northfork Township, Ozark Township, Richland Township, South West Township, Union Township.

Barton County vital records can be found at the Missouri Office of Vital Records has copies of birth and death records reported from January 1, 1910. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Missouri for current fees and application process./p>

You can search online for Barton County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Missouri Birth and Death CertificateMarriage and Divorce Certificate Application to mail.

Barton County has Federal Census Schedules to help in researching your family tree. Government Population Schedules are present for 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Barton Co. Slave Schedules is available for 1860. Barton Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1860, 1870 and 1880. Barton Co. Industry and Agriculture can be found for 1860, 1870 and 1880. Barton Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be acquired for 1890. There are free down-loadable and printable census forms to help you with your research.

Barton County Societies and Family History Resources

A list of Barton County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Barton County Courthouse and Government Records

Researchers frequently forget about the value of Barton County court, probate, and land files as a source of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in Missouri courthouses and archives just about everywhere could be the ambitions and worries of many Missouri residents.

The odds are great that your potential ancestors have left a comprehensive record of at least a number of aspects of their lives in the Barton County court records. Even if your forefathers is not brought up in a Court case, take into consideration all of the other procedures which often can have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

The following facts denotes exactly what marriage, birth, death, property, probate, and legal records can be found in Barton County. The years suggested below are the first known records data with this county. Courthouse burned in November 1862

You need to call the clerk's dept to validate hours, mailing address, fees and other facts before visiting or looking for information because of in some cases changing contact details. The Department Offices DO NOT DO RESEARCH. The data files are accessible to interested parties, barring private issues. A lot of staff will guide men and women in locating the resources, but it's up to the particular person to complete the research.
  • Barton County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 1004 Gulf, Lamar 64759
  • Barton County Recorder of Deeds is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
    • Phone: 417 682 2110
    • Marriage Records: 1866 (including Index to marriage records, 1866-1891; Marriage records, 1866-1916) 
    • Land Records: 1857 (including Index to deeds, 1857-1888; Deed records, 1858-1912; Index to recorders files, 1866-1921)
  • Barton County Circuit Court Clerk / Probate Court Clerk has the direct index to records such as divorces, adoptions, judgment, and tax fee books including direct and indirect indexes. They also retain the index to criminal records and criminal files of the circuit court. Adoptions are under the jurisdiction of the circuit court. Naturalization records, including petitions, declarations of intention, certificates, and certificates of allegiance, and granting of citizenship are also located in the clerk's office, as well as an index to civil case files. The County Probate Division has jurisdiction over the estates of deceased persons. The Division hears all litigation involving trusts, including those trusts established in wills. (In the smaller counties, probate matters are handled in the same office as the associate circuit court office)
    • Phone: (417) 682-2444
    • Probate Records: 1866  (including Index to probate records, 1869-1923; Probate records, 1866-1887; Inventory, appraisements and sale bills, 1866-1900; Will records, 1867-1921)
    • Court & Divorce Records: 1866 (including Index to circuit court records, 1866-1929; Circuit court records, 1866-1892)
  • Barton County Clerk of the Court has indexes to common pleas, records of all extant proceedings, chancery minute books, records of births and deaths, county court records, right-of-way and road records, as well as surveyor's records (including field notes and plats made by the county surveyor). This office usually holds the county treasurer's notes, bonds and commissions, records of marks and brands, wolf scalps, stray notices, real estate assessments, and tax books. In some counties, early terms for this court included “Chancery” or the “Court of Common Pleas.”
    • Phone: (417) 682-3529
    • Birth & Death Records: 1883-99 (including Permanent record of births, 1883-1894; Register of births and stillbirths, 1883-1896; Permanent record of deaths, 1883-1895; Register of deaths, 1883-1 899)
  • Barton County Tax Assessor Office is responsible for appraising and assessing real estate property and person property for the purpose of taxation as well as transferring ownership of real estate, and keeping real estate maps up to date.
  • Barton County Health Department has Birth Certificates since 1920 and Death Certificates since 1980

Barton County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources associated to Barton County. A majority of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a payment. This is just a directory which has been gathered or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site above another. Feel free to present your own most liked Barton County genealogy or family history related sites.

Barton Co. MO Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Barton Co. MO Books, Newspapers & Publications

Barton Co. MO Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Barton Co. MO Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Barton Co. MO Census Records

Barton Co. MO Cemeteries & Graveyards

Barton Co. MO Church & Bible Records

Barton Co. MO Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Barton Co. MO General and History Websites

Barton Co. MO Military Records

Barton Co. MO Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2014,