Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Eaton County, Michigan

Eaton County

Eaton County was founded on October 29, 1829 (Organized on December 29, 1837) from unorganized territory . This county was named for John Eaton (1790-1856): Secretary of War in the Jackson Administration.

The Eaton County Seat is located in Charlotte also, the county government website is unknown.

Counties bordering Eaton County Clinton County (northeast), Ingham County (east), Jackson County (southeast), Calhoun County (south), Barry County (west), Ionia County (northwest).

Incorporated Cities & Villages located in Eaton County include  Charlotte, Eaton Rapids, Grand Ledge, Lansing (partial) Olivet, Potterville, Bellevue, Dimondale, Mulliken, Sunfield, Vermontville.

Townships located in Eaton County include  Bellevue, Benton, Brookfield, Carmel, Chester, Delta Charter, Eaton Rapids, Eaton, Hamlin, Kalamo, Oneida Charter, Roxand, Sunfield, Vermontville, Walton, Windsor Charter.

Eaton County vital records can be found at the Michigan Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records since 1867. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Michigan for current fees and application process.

You can search online for Eaton County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Michigan Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Eaton County consists of Federal Census Schedules to guide in looking into your family tree. Federal Population Schedules can be found for 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Eaton Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Eaton Co. Industry and Agriculture can be obtained for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Eaton Co. Union Veterans Schedules is available for 1890. One can find free online and printable census forms to help you with your research.

Eaton County Societies and Family History Resources

A list of Eaton County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Eaton County Courthouse and Government Records

Eaton County Courthouse

Genealogist often overlook the importance of Eaton County court, probate, and land records as a source of genealogy and family history information. Hidden away in Michigan courthouses and archives just about everywhere tend to be the hopes and dreams and worries of countless Michigan citizens.

The chances are very good that your potential ancestors and forefathers have left a in-depth document of at least several elements of their lives in the Eaton County court records. Even if your ancestors and forefathers is not discussed in a Court case, consider all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

The following specifics indicates exactly what birth, death, marriage, property, probate, and legal records are in Eaton County. The dates pointed out below are considered the first known records with this county.

Some early records  prior to organization on December 29, 1837 may be located in St. Joseph County and Kalamazoo County

You need to contact the clerk's office to verify hours, mailing address, fees and other details prior to visiting or seeking information because of in some cases changing contact info. The Department Offices DO NOT DO RESEARCH. The records and documents are readily available to interested parties, barring private issues. Most staff will guide persons in locating the resources, but it's up to the man or women to carry out the researching.
  • Eaton County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 1045 Independence Boulevard, Charlotte, MI 48813
  • Eaton County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. Eaton County Clerk Information for Genealogists
    • Phone: 517-543-7500
    • Births & Deaths: 1867
    • Marriage Records: 1838
  • Eaton County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
    • Phone: 517-543-4203
    • Land Records: 1835
  • Eaton County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
    • Phone: (517) 543-7500
    • Probate Records: 1835 
  • Eaton County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.
    • Phone: (517) 543-4335
    • Court Records: 1832 

Eaton County Links

The following are links to Genealogy and family history, Records and Resources related to Eaton County. Most of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Commercial Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a fee. This is just a list that has been compiled or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site above another. Feel free to provide your own most liked Eaton County genealogy or family history associated sites.

Eaton Co. MI Books, Newspapers & Publications

Eaton Co. MI Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Eaton Co. MI Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Eaton Co. MI Census Records

Eaton Co. MI Cemeteries & Graveyards

Eaton Co. MI Church & Bible Records

Eaton Co. MI Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Eaton Co. MI General and History Websites

Eaton Co. MI Immigration & Naturalization

Eaton Co. MI Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Eaton Co. MI Military Records

Eaton Co. MI Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2014,