Montgomery County, Alabama

Montgomery County was created on Dec. 6, 1816 from Monroe County. This particular county was named in honor of Major Lemuel P. Montgomery (Tennessee) who was killed in the Battle of Horseshoe Bend, 1814.

Currently the Montgomery County Seat is located in Montgomery, which was also selected as the state capitol in 1846, is often referred to as the Cradle of the Confederacy because the city briefly served as the first capital of the Confederate States of America in 1861 and in addition the county government website is

Locations adjacent Montgomery County happen to be Elmore County (north), Macon County (northeast), Bullock County (east), Pike County (southeast), Crenshaw County (southwest), Lowndes County (west), Autauga County (northwest).

Cities and towns found in Montgomery County consist of Montgomery, Pike Road.

Montgomery County vital records can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health which has Birth And Death Records from 1908, Marriages from 1936 and Divorce Records from 1950. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Alabama for current fees and application process.

You can search online for Montgomery County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also order Order Electronically Online or you can download an application for Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Certificates to mail. You may go to any county health department in the State of Alabama to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Montgomery County includes Federal Census Schedules to assist in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules can be found for 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Montgomery Co. Slave Schedules can be obtained for 1850 & 1860. Montgomery Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Montgomery Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules can be obtained for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Montgomery Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be obtained for 1890. Two State censuses for confederate veterans exist for 1907 and 1921. You can find free down-loadable and also printable census forms that can help with your research.

The act that created Montgomery County provided that its courts were to meet initially at Fort Jackson, located at the confluence of the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers and site of the surrender of the Creek Indians to Gen. Andrew Jackson, in present-day Elmore County. Andrew DexterThe courts met there only until June 1818, after which they met in nearby Alabama Town, founded by Gen. John Scott, who with several other migrants from Georgia founded the town on the bluff of the Alabama River. The men abandoned it when a group from New England, led by Andrew Dexter, founded a nearby town in what is now the downtown area of Montgomery and named it New Philadelphia. Scott and his companions then built a new town they called East Alabama. Seeing themselves as rivals, the citizens of East Alabama contemptuously referred to New Philadelphia as Yankee Town. The bitter rivalry ended, however, when the towns merged on December 3, 1819, and incorporated as the city of Montgomery, just prior to Alabama being admitted as a state.

Montgomery County Societies and Family History Resources

A list of Montgomery County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives. See Also Alabama Archives, Genealogical and Historical Societies for statewide Addresses and links.

Montgomery County Courthouse and Government Records

Montgomery County Courthouse

Genealogist often overlook the significance of Montgomery County court, probate, and land documents as a source of genealogy and family history details.

Buried away in Alabama courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the hopes and dreams and frustrations of countless Alabama people.

The odds are excellent that your ancestors and forefathers have left a in-depth record of at least several aspects of their lives in the Montgomery County court records.

Even if your forebears is not discussed in a Court case, take into consideration all of the other methods which could have lead to him or her appearing in court records.

Montgomery County is the seat of state government. Montgomery County is governed by an elected five-member commission and includes two incorporated communities.The below facts shows exactly what birth, marriage, death, land, probate, and legal records will be in Montgomery County. The years pointed out below could be the first widely known documents in this county.

Please call the clerk's department to confirm hours, mailing address, fees and other specifics before visiting or requesting information because of sometimes changing contact information.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.
  • Montgomery County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
    • Address: P.O. Box 223, Montgomery, AL 36101-0223
    • Phone: (334) 832-4950
    • Court Records: 1811
    • Divorce Records: are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Alabama Department of Public Health)
  • Montgomery County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
    • Address: P O Box 5625, Montgomery, AL 36103
    • Phone: (334) 206-5418
    • Search the Montgomery County Probate Records
    • Marriage Records: 1817 (Marriages issued prior to 1936)
    • Probate Records: 1819
    • Land Records: 1819
  • Montgomery County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
    • Address: ?
    • Phone: ?
  • Montgomery County Health Department has Birth Records from 1908, Death records from 1908 . 

Montgomery County Genealogy Links

The following are web links to Genealogy and family history, Records and Resources relevant to Montgomery County. Each of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Commercial Sites, Personal Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a cost. This is basically a directory that has been gathered or submitted. I do not recommend or promote one genealogy site over another. Feel free to present your own favorite Montgomery County genealogy or family history related sites.

Montgomery Co. AL Books, Newspapers & Publications

Montgomery Co. AL Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Montgomery Co. AL Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Montgomery Co. AL Census Records

Montgomery Co. AL Cemeteries & Graveyards

Montgomery Co. AL Church & Bible Records

Montgomery Co. AL Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Montgomery Co. AL General and History Websites

Montgomery Co. AL Immigration & Naturalization

Montgomery Co. AL Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Montgomery Co. AL Military Records

Montgomery Co. AL Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2014,