Search For Your Ancestors

Clinton County, Indiana
Genealogy, History & Facts

Clinton County, Indiana Facts

When was Clinton County, IN Created?
Clinton County was established on March 1, 1830 from Adams New Purchase and Wabash New Purchase. This county was named for DeWitt Clinton, Governor of New York.

What is the County Seat of Clinton County, IN?
The County Seat is located in Frankfort also, the county government website is .

What counties are adjacent to Clinton County, IN?
Bordering Counties are  Carroll CountyHoward CountyTipton CountyHamilton CountyBoone CountyMontgomery CountyTippecanoe County..

What cities and towns are in Clinton County, IN?
Cities and towns located in the County include  Colfax, Frankfort, Kirklin, Michigantown, Mulberry, Rossville.

What Townships are in Clinton County, IN?
Townships located in the County include  Center, Forest, Jackson, Johnson, Kirklin, Madison, Michigan, Owen, Perry, Ross, Sugar Creek, Union, Warren, Washington.

Clinton County, IN Vital Records

Where can find Clinton County Birth, marriage, Divorce and Death Records?
Clinton County vital records can be found at the Indiana Office of Vital Records which has copies of birth and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Indiana for current fees and application process.

You can search online for Clinton County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Indiana Birth Certificate or Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Vital Records can also be found in the Clinton County Department of Health, 400 E Clinton St, Frankfort IN 46041; Phone: (765) 659-6385; maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records. They have Birth & Death Records from 1882.

Clinton County, IN Census Records

What Clinton County, IN census records are available?
There are many types of census records for Adams County guide you in researching your family tree. Federal Population Schedules are available for 183018401850186018701880 (free index)1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Clinton Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Clinton Co. Industry and Agriculture can be obtained for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Clinton Co. Union Veterans Schedules is available for 1890. One can find free online and printable census forms to help you with your research. See Also Indiana Census Records Research Guide

Clinton County, IN Courthouse and Government Records

Clinton County Courthouse

What genealogical records can I find in the Clinton County Courthouse?
The below facts shows exactly what death, marriage, birth, property, wills, and court records are typically in Clinton County. The years listed below are the first noted records with this county. See Also Indiana Corthouse Records Research Guide.

  • Clinton County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court’s permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings. The County Clerk’s Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  The staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.
    • Address: 265 Courthouse Square, Frankfort IN 46041
    • Phone: (765) 659-6335
    • Marriage Records: 1830
    • Probate Records: 1830
    • Court Records: 1829
  • Clinton County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
    • Address: 270 Courthouse Square, Frankfort, IN 46041
    • Phone: (765) 659-6320
    • Land Records: 1832
  • Clinton County Treasurer’s Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper’s tax.
  • BLM Land Records

Clinton County, IN Societies and Family History Resources

What genealogical and historical societies, archives, museums, associations and libraries are available for Clinton County, IN?
A list of Clinton County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Libraries, Archives. See also list of Statewide Indiana Archives, Historical & Genealogical Societies.

Where can I connect with other Clinton County, IN Researchers through message boards and forums?

What other genealogical resources are available in Clinton County, IN?
The following are web links to Genealogy, Records and Resources pertaining to Clinton County. These genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Commercial Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some require a cost. This is simply a collection that has been gathered or submitted. I do not recommend or promote one genealogy site over another.

Clinton Co. IN Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Clinton Co. IN Books, Newspapers & Publications

Clinton Co. IN Cemeteries & Church Records

Clinton Co. IN Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Clinton Co. IN General and History Websites

Clinton Co. IN Military Records