Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Carroll County, Tennessee

Carroll County, Tennessee Facts

When was Carroll County, TN Created?

Carroll County was founded on November 7, 1821 from part of the Western District (which was controlled by the Chickasaws until ceded in the Jackson Purchase of 1818). This county was named in honor of Governor of Tennessee William Carroll (1788–1844).

What is the County Seat of Carroll County, TN?

The County Seat of government is located in Huntingdon also, the county government website is .

What counties are adjacent to Carroll County, TN?

Bordering counties are Henry County (north), Benton County (east), Decatur County (southeast), Henderson County (south), Madison County (southwest), Gibson County (west) and Weakley County (northwest) .

What cities and towns are in Carroll County, TN?

Cities and towns located in the county include Atwood, Bruceton, Clarksburg, Hollow Rock, Huntingdon, McKenzie, McLemoresville, Trezevant .

Carroll County Courthouse and Government Records

What genealogical records can I find in the Carroll County Courthouse?

Carroll County Courthouse

The following information and facts indicates whatever birth, death, marriage, land, wills, and courtroom records will be in Carroll County or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The dates indicated below could be the first widely known documents for this county. There was a fire at the Carroll County courthouse in 1931, destroying some records.

Please get in touch with the clerk's office to affirm hours, mailing address, fees and other specifics before visiting or requesting information because of in some cases changing contact details. The Department Offices DO NOT DO RESEARCH. The records are accessible to interested parties, barring confidential issues. A lot of workers will guide individuals in obtaining the resources, however it's up to the individual to complete the basic research.
  • Carroll County Clerk maintains Marriage & Divorce records. It also has jurisdiction over probate cases. Wills, administrations, and all other records pertaining to probate are recorded in the respective county clerk's office. If the will or administration was contested, the records of these actions may be filed in the circuit court or chancery court.
    • Address: 625 High Street, Suite 103, Huntingdon, TN 38344
    • Phone: (731) 986-1960
    • Marriage Records: 1838 
    • Probate Records: 1822
  • Carroll County Register of Deeds has land records beginning with county organization, land records are available from the register of deeds at the Sevier county courthouse. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
    • Address: P.O. Box 432, Huntingdon, TN 38344
    • Phone: (731) 986-1952
    • Land & Deed Records: 1822
  • Carroll County Clerk of Circuit Court has jurisdiction over property disputes, and circuit courts oversee criminal cases, divorces, and adoptions. Early courts included courts of common pleas and quarter sessions.
    • Address: 99 Court Square, Suite 103, Huntingdon, TN 38344-3726
    • Phone: 731-986-1932
    • Chancery Court Minutes: 1836
    • Circuit Court Minutes: 1912
    • County  Court Minutes: 1822
  • Carroll County Property Assessor is responsible for the evaluation of all real property, the cadastral mapping of the county, valuation of all business personal property and maintaining ownership records. The property assessor prepares the tax rolls for the trustee and all the municipalities. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
    • Address: 625 High Street, Suite 105, Huntingdon, TN 38344
    • Phone: (731) 986-1975
    • Tax Records: 1836, 1839, 1848-1850, 1871 (located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives)
    • Carroll County Health Department, 633 High Street, Huntingdon, TN 38344; (731) 986-1990 , issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Where can find Carroll County Birth, marriage, Divorce and Death Records?

Carroll County vital records can be found at the Tennessee Department of Health (VDH) Office of Vital Records which has copies for copies of birth certificates, marriage licenses and divorce decrees. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Tennessee for current fees and application process.

Marriage license records are available from the county clerk who issued the marriage license. Court divorce orders may be obtained from the clerk of the court that granted the divorce.

You can search online for Carroll County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Tennessee Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificates to mail.

What Carroll County, TN census records are available?

Federal Population Schedules for Carroll County can be found for 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Carroll Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Carroll Co. Industry and Agriculture can be obtained for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Carroll Co. Union Veterans Schedules is available for 1890. The Slave Schedules exist for 1850 & 1860. One can find free online and printable census forms to help you with your research.

What genealogical and historical societies, archives, museums, associations and libraries are available for Carroll County, TN?

Carroll County Genealogy Resources

Where can I connect with other Carroll County, TN Researchers through message boards and forums?

What other genealogical resources are available in Carroll County, TN?

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Carroll County. A majority of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business oriented Sites, Personal Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some call for a payment. This is merely a collection which has been collected or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site over another. Feel free to suggest your own most popular Carroll County genealogy or family history affiliated sites.

Carroll Co. TN Books, Newspapers & Publications

Carroll Co. TN Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Carroll Co. TN Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Carroll Co. TN Census Records

Carroll Co. TN Cemeteries & Church Records

Carroll Co. TN Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Carroll Co. TN General and History Websites

Carroll Co. TN Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Carroll Co. TN Military Records

Copyright © 2014,