Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Douglas County, Missouri

Douglas County

Douglas County was created on October 29, 1857 from Ozark County. The county was named in honor of Stephen A. Douglas (1813-1861), American Senator from Illinois, and the Democratic nominee for President in 1860.

The Douglas County Seat is situated in Ava and in addition the county government website is unknown

Areas surrounding Douglas County include Webster County (northwest), Wright County (north), Texas County (northeast), Howell County (east), Ozark County (south), Taney County (southwest), Christian County (west).

Cities and towns to be found in Douglas County include Ava, Brushyknob, Drury, Fordland, Gentryville, Smallett, Squires, Vanzant.

Douglas County vital records can be found at the Missouri Office of Vital Records has copies of birth and death records reported from January 1, 1910. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Missouri for current fees and application process./p>

You can search online for Douglas County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Missouri Birth and Death CertificateMarriage and Divorce Certificate Application to mail.

Douglas County has Federal Census Schedules to help in researching your family tree. Government Population Schedules are present for 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Douglas Co. Slave Schedules is available for 1860. Douglas Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1860, 1870 and 1880. Douglas Co. Industry and Agriculture can be found for 1860, 1870 and 1880. Douglas Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be acquired for 1890. There are free down-loadable and printable census forms to help you with your research.

Douglas County Societies and Family History Resources

A list of Douglas County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Douglas County Courthouse and Government Records

Researchers frequently forget about the value of Douglas County court, probate, and land files as a source of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in Missouri courthouses and archives just about everywhere could be the ambitions and worries of many Missouri residents.

The odds are great that your potential ancestors have left a comprehensive record of at least a number of aspects of their lives in the Douglas County court records. Even if your forefathers is not brought up in a Court case, take into consideration all of the other procedures which often can have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

The following facts denotes exactly what marriage, birth, death, property, probate, and legal records can be found in Douglas County. The years suggested below are the first known records data with this county. Vandals burned the Militia Springs courthouse, destroying many records in July 1872. On April 26, 1886 the store building used for courthouse purposes was destroyed by fire, and again all records were destroyed.

You need to call the clerk's dept to validate hours, mailing address, fees and other facts before visiting or looking for information because of in some cases changing contact details. The Department Offices DO NOT DO RESEARCH. The data files are accessible to interested parties, barring private issues. A lot of staff will guide men and women in locating the resources, but it's up to the particular person to complete the research.
  • Douglas County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 203 S.E. Second Ave., Ava 65608
  • Douglas County Recorder of Deeds is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
    • Phone: 417-683-1219
    • Marriage Records: 1877 (including Index to marriage records, (no dates); Marriage records, 1877-1916) 
    • Land Records: 1858 (including Index to deeds, 1860-1893; Deed records, 1858-1920)
  • Douglas County Circuit Court Clerk / Probate Court Clerk has the direct index to records such as divorces, adoptions, judgment, and tax fee books including direct and indirect indexes. They also retain the index to criminal records and criminal files of the circuit court. Adoptions are under the jurisdiction of the circuit court. Naturalization records, including petitions, declarations of intention, certificates, and certificates of allegiance, and granting of citizenship are also located in the clerk's office, as well as an index to civil case files. The County Probate Division has jurisdiction over the estates of deceased persons. The Division hears all litigation involving trusts, including those trusts established in wills. (In the smaller counties, probate matters are handled in the same office as the associate circuit court office)
    • Phone:
    • (417) 683-4713
    • Probate Records: 1886  (including Index to probate records, (no dates); Inventories, appraisements and sale bills, 1889-1892; Settlement records, 1886-1895; Will records, 1886-1928)
    • Court & Divorce Records: 1886 (including Index to circuit court records, 1886-1931; Circuit court records, 1886-1909)
  • Douglas County Clerk of the Court has indexes to common pleas, records of all extant proceedings, chancery minute books, records of births and deaths, county court records, right-of-way and road records, as well as surveyor's records (including field notes and plats made by the county surveyor). This office usually holds the county treasurer's notes, bonds and commissions, records of marks and brands, wolf scalps, stray notices, real estate assessments, and tax books. In some counties, early terms for this court included “Chancery” or the “Court of Common Pleas.”
    • Phone: (417) 683-4714
    • Birth & Death Records: 1886-94
  • Douglas County Tax Assessor Office is responsible for appraising and assessing real estate property and person property for the purpose of taxation as well as transferring ownership of real estate, and keeping real estate maps up to date.
  • Douglas County Health Department has Birth Certificates since 1920 and Death Certificates since 1980

Douglas County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources associated to Douglas County. A majority of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a payment. This is just a directory which has been gathered or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site above another. Feel free to present your own most liked Douglas County genealogy or family history related sites.

Douglas Co. MO Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Douglas Co. MO Books, Newspapers & Publications

Douglas Co. MO Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Douglas Co. MO Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Douglas Co. MO Census Records

Douglas Co. MO Cemeteries & Graveyards

Douglas Co. MO Church & Bible Records

Douglas Co. MO Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Douglas Co. MO General and History Websites

Douglas Co. MO Military Records

Douglas Co. MO Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2014,