Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Coahoma County,
Mississippi History & Facts

Coahoma County, Mississippi Facts

Coahoma County

When was Coahoma County, MS Created?
Coahoma County was established on February 9, 1836 from Un-Organized (Chickasaw Cession of 1836). Currently the county was named derives from Native American word meaning "red panther".

What is the County Seat of Coahoma County, MS?
The County Seat is located in Clarksdale additionally, the county government website is

What counties are adjacent to Coahoma County, MS?
Bordering Counties are Tunica County (north), Quitman County (east), Tallahatchie County (southeast), Bolivar County (southwest) and Phillips County , Arkansas (west).

What cities and towns are in Coahoma County, MS?
Cities and towns located in the County include Clarksdale, Coahoma, Friars Point, Jonestown, Lula, Lyon.

Coahoma County, MS Vital Records

Where can find Coahoma County, MS Birth, marriage, Divorce and Death Records?
Coahoma County vital records can be found at the Mississippi Department of Health which has copies of birth and death records after 1912, Marriage and a Divorce records since 1926. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Mississippi for current fees and application process.

Certified marriages may also be obtained from the Circuit Clerk Court. Certified divorce decrees may also be obtained from the Chancery Clerk Court.

Coahoma County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

You can search online for Coahoma County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Mississippi Birth CertificateMarriage CertificateDeath Certificate Application to mail.

Coahoma County, MS Census Records

What Coahoma County, MS census records are available?
Coahoma County census records consists of Federal Census Schedules to guide in finding out about your family tree. Federal Population Schedules are available for 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Coahoma Co. Slave Schedules is available for 1850 & 1860. Coahoma Co. Mortality Schedules can be acquired for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Coahoma Co. Industry and Agriculture is available for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Coahoma Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be acquired for 1890. You will discover free down loadable and printable census forms to aid with your research.

Coahoma County, MS Courthouse and Government Records

Coahoma County Courthouse

What genealogical records can I find in the Coahoma County Courthouse?
The below specifics denotes whatever birth, death, marriage, property, probate, and legal records are typically in Coahoma County. The dates suggested listed below are the first widely known documents with this county.

  • Coahoma County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 115 First Street, Clarksdale, MS 38614
  • Coahoma County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records
    • Phone: 662-624-3000
    • Land Records: 1839
    • Probate Records: 1856?
    • Divorce Records: see Clerk
  • Coahoma County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
    • Phone: 662-624-3014 or 662-624-3022
    • Marriage Records: 1849 
    • Court Records: ?
  • Coahoma County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.

Coahoma County, MS Societies and Family History Resources

What genealogical and historical societies, archives, museums, associations and libraries are available for Coahoma County, MS?
A list of Coahoma County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Libraries, Archives.

Where can I connect with other Coahoma County, MS Researchers through message boards and forums?

What other genealogical resources are available in Coahoma County, MS?
The following are web links to Genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Coahoma County. Many of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business oriented Sites, Personal Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some require a fee. This is basically a list that has been collected or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site above another.

Coahoma Co. MS Books, Newspapers & Publications

Coahoma Co. MS Cemetery & Church Records

Coahoma Co. MS Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Coahoma Co. MS General and History Websites

Coahoma Co. MS Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Coahoma Co. MS Military Records

Copyright © 2014,