Search For Your Ancestors



Burke County, North Dakota

Burke County was established on July 06, 1910 from Ward County.

The Burke County Seat is situated in Bowbells and the county government website is

Areas next to Burke County are Saskatchewan, Canada, Renville CountyWard CountyMountrail CountyWilliams CountyDivide County.

Townships include Battleview, Bowbells, Carter, Clayton, Cleary, Colville, Dale, Dimond, Fay, Foothills, Forthun, Garness, Harmonious, Kandiyohi, Keller, Lakeview, Leaf Mountain, Lucy, Minnesota, North Star, Portal, Richland, Roseland, Short Creek, Soo, Thorson, Vale, Vanville, Ward.

Burke County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1910192019301940. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Burke County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Burke County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Burke County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Burke County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Burke County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Burke County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 103 Main St, Bowbells, ND 58721
    • Phone: (701) 377-2718
  • Burke County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: 1910
    • Land Records: 1910
    • Probate Records: 1910
    • Court Records: 1910
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Burke County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Burke County. Feel free to provide your own favorite Burke County genealogy or family history related sites.

Burke Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Burke Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Burke Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Burke Co. ND Census Records

Burke Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Burke Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Burke Co. ND General and History Websites

Burke Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Burke Co. ND Military Records