Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Davis County, Utah

Davis County

Davis County was established on March 03, 1852 as an original county of State of Deseret. The county was named in honor of Daniel C. Davis (1804–1850), Mormon Battalion captain.

Currently the Davis County Seat is situated in Farmington plus the county government website is

Areas neighboring Davis County are  Salt Lake County (south), Morgan County (east), Weber County (north), Box Elder County (northwest), Tooele County (west).

Cities and towns found in Davis County consists of Bountiful, Centerville, Clearfield, Clinton, Farmington, Fruit Heights, Kaysville, Layton, North Salt Lake, South Weber, Sunset, Syracuse, West Bountiful, West Point, Woods Cross.

Davis County vital records can be found at the Utah Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Utah for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

You can search online for Davis County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Utah Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Beaver County includes Federal Census Schedules to assist in researching your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Davis Co. Mortality Schedules can be acquired for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Davis Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules can be obtained for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Davis Co. Union Veterans Schedules is available for 1890. You'll find free down-loadable and also printable census forms that can help with your research.

Davis County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Davis County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Davis County Courthouse and Government Records

Davis County Courthouse

Researchers frequently fail to notice the advantages of Davis County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of genealogy information and facts. Hidden away in Utah courthouses and archives everywhere tend to be the desires and frustrations of the many Utah men and women. The chances are great that your potential ancestors have left a in-depth document of at least several aspects of their lives in the Davis County court records. Even if your ancestors and forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, take into consideration all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

The below facts indicates whatever marriage, birth, death, land, wills, and court records can be found in Davis County. The dates stated listed below are considered the first widely known documents in this county.

You should get in touch with the clerk's dept to validate hours, mailing address, fees and other particulars in advance of visiting or requesting information because of occasionally changing contact details. The Department Offices DO NOT DO RESEARCH. The records and documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues. The majority of staff will guide individuals in locating the materials, however it is up to the individual to do the research.
  • Davis County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 800 State St, Farmington, UT 84025
    • Phone: (801) 451-3324
  • Davis County Clerk responsibilities are to conduct Countywide elections, issue marriage licenses, issue business licenses for the unincorporated county,
  • Davis County Recorder duties include Record, store and retrieve land documents in the public record; Assist the public in locating real property parcels on ownership plats; Assist the public in locating records; Record Military Discharges and provide certified copies of these documents at no charge; Sell copies of documents and plats to the public
    • Land Records: 1870
  • Davis County Clerk of District Court duties services include Divorce, Protective Orders, Guardianship and other civil matters.
    • Address: 800 West State Street, P. O. Box 769, Farmington, UT 84025
    • Phone: (801) 447-3820
    • Probate Records: 1853 
    • Court Records: 1852 

Davis County Links

The following are links to Genealogy and family history, Records and Resources relevant to Davis County. These genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business Sites, Personal Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a fee. This is merely a list which has been compiled or submitted. I do not recommend or promote one genealogy site above another. Feel free to suggest your own preferred Davis County genealogy or family history associated sites.

Davis Co. UT Books, Newspapers & Publications

Davis Co. UT Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Davis Co. UT Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Davis Co. UT Census Records

Davis Co. UT Cemeteries & Church Records

Davis Co. UT Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Davis Co. UT General and History Websites

Davis Co. UT Immigration & Naturalization

Davis Co. UT Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Davis Co. UT Military Records

Davis Co. UT Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2014,