Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Hamilton County, Tennessee

Hamilton County, Tennessee Facts

When was Hamilton County, TN Created?

Hamilton County was founded on October 25, 1819 from Rhea County, Marion County, and Bledsoe County. This county was named in honor of First U.S. Secretary of the Treasury and Founding Father Alexander Hamilton (1755 or 1757–1804).

What is the County Seat of Hamilton County, TN?

The County Seat of government is located in Chattanooga also, the county government website is .

What counties are adjacent to Hamilton County, TN?

Bordering counties are Bledsoe County (north), Rhea County (northeast), Meigs County (northeast), Bradley County (east), Whitfield County, Georgia (southeast), Catoosa County, Georgia (south), Walker County, Georgia (south), Dade County, Georgia (southwest), Marion County (west) and Sequatchie County (northwest) .

What cities and towns are in Hamilton County, TN?

Cities and towns located in the county include Apison, Bakewell, Birchwood, Chattanooga, Collegedale, East Brainerd, East Ridge, Fairmount, Falling Water, Harrison, Hixson, Lakesite, Lookout Mountain, Middle Valley, Ooltewah, Red Bank, Ridgeside, Signal Mountain, Soddy-Daisy, Walden .

Hamilton County Courthouse and Government Records

What genealogical records can I find in the Hamilton County Courthouse?

Hamilton County Courthouse

The following information and facts indicates whatever birth, death, marriage, land, wills, and courtroom records will be in Hamilton County or in the Tennessee State Library & Archives. The dates indicated below could be the first widely known documents for this county.

Please get in touch with the clerk's office to affirm hours, mailing address, fees and other specifics before visiting or requesting information because of in some cases changing contact details. The Department Offices DO NOT DO RESEARCH. The records are accessible to interested parties, barring confidential issues. A lot of workers will guide individuals in obtaining the resources, however it's up to the individual to complete the basic research.
  • Hamilton County Clerk maintains Marriage & Divorce records. It also has jurisdiction over probate cases. Wills, administrations, and all other records pertaining to probate are recorded in the respective county clerk's office. If the will or administration was contested, the records of these actions may be filed in the circuit court or chancery court.
    • Address: 625 Georgia Avenue, Room 101, Chattanooga, TN 37402
    • Phone: (423) 209-7934
    • Marriage Records: 1857 
    • Probate Records: 1862
  • Hamilton County Register of Deeds has land records beginning with county organization, land records are available from the register of deeds at the Sevier county courthouse. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
    • Address: P.O. Box 1639, Chattanooga, TN 37401
    • Phone: (423) 209-6560
    • Land & Deed Records: 1796
  • Hamilton County Clerk of Circuit Court has jurisdiction over property disputes, and circuit courts oversee criminal cases, divorces, and adoptions. Early courts included courts of common pleas and quarter sessions.
    • Address: 625 Georgia Avenue, Room 500, Chattanooga, TN 37402
    • Phone: 423-209-6700
    • Chancery Court Minutes: ?
    • Circuit Court Minutes: 1860
    • County  Court Minutes: ?
  • Hamilton County Property Assessor is responsible for the evaluation of all real property, the cadastral mapping of the county, valuation of all business personal property and maintaining ownership records. The property assessor prepares the tax rolls for the trustee and all the municipalities. Tax lists can be used to locate families, document historic properties and study community history. Early tax lists generally include all white males over 21 and indicate whether they owned land or slaves.
    • Address: 6135 Heritage Park Drive, Chattanooga, TN 37416
    • Phone: 423-209-7300
    • Tax Records: 1836, 1837 (located at the Tennessee State Library and Archives)
    • Hamilton County Health Department, 921 East Third Street, Chattanooga, TN 37403; (423) 209-8000 , issues birth certificates and death certificates (deaths which occurred in that county within the past three years, and a few county health departments keep death records for longer periods of time).

Where can find Hamilton County Birth, marriage, Divorce and Death Records?

Hamilton County vital records can be found at the Tennessee Department of Health (VDH) Office of Vital Records which has copies for copies of birth certificates, marriage licenses and divorce decrees. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Tennessee for current fees and application process.

Marriage license records are available from the county clerk who issued the marriage license. Court divorce orders may be obtained from the clerk of the court that granted the divorce.

You can search online for Hamilton County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Tennessee Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificates to mail.

What Hamilton County, TN census records are available?

Federal Population Schedules for Hamilton County can be found for 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Hamilton Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Hamilton Co. Industry and Agriculture can be obtained for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Hamilton Co. Union Veterans Schedules is available for 1890. The Slave Schedules exist for 1850 & 1860. One can find free online and printable census forms to help you with your research.

What genealogical and historical societies, archives, museums, associations and libraries are available for Hamilton County, TN?

Hamilton County Genealogy Resources

Where can I connect with other Hamilton County, TN Researchers through message boards and forums?

What other genealogical resources are available in Hamilton County, TN?

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Hamilton County. A majority of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business oriented Sites, Personal Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some call for a payment. This is merely a collection which has been collected or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site over another. Feel free to suggest your own most popular Hamilton County genealogy or family history affiliated sites.

Hamilton Co. TN Books, Newspapers & Publications

Hamilton Co. TN Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Hamilton Co. TN Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Hamilton Co. TN Census Records

Hamilton Co. TN Cemeteries & Church Records

Hamilton Co. TN Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Hamilton Co. TN General and History Websites

Hamilton Co. TN Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Hamilton Co. TN Military Records

Copyright © 2014,