Search For Your Ancestors

Lawrence County, South Dakota

Lawrence County was established on January 11, 1873 (organized in 1877) from Unorganized territory.

Currently the Lawrence County Seat is located in Deadwood and the county government website is

Locations adjacent to Lawrence County are Butte CountyMeade CountyPennington CountyWeston County, Wyoming, Crook County, Wyoming.

Lawrence County has Federal Census Schedules to help in researching your family tree. Federal government Population Schedules are present for 1880 (free index)1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Lawrence Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1880. Lawrence Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules can be found for 1880. Lawrence Co. Union Veterans Schedules is available for 1890. There are free down-loadable not to mention printable census forms to help with your research.

Lawrence County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Lawrence County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Lawrence County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the benefits of Lawrence County court, probate, and land files as a useful resource of ancestry and genealogy details. Hidden away in South Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are the ambitions and frustrations of the many South Dakota residents.

The odds are very good that your potential forefathers have left a comprehensive record of at least quite a few elements of their lives in the Lawrence County court records. Even if your forefathers is not referred to in a Court case, take into consideration all of the other procedures which could have lead to him or her to appear in court records.

The following indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lawrence county. The dates indicated below are the first known records for this county which may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth. Lawrence County courthouse was destroyed in the great fire of 1879, along with all the records. The state archives has probate records and wills (1877—1935); guardianship and adoption records (1910—58); marriage records (1879—1956); and circuit court journals (1891—1930).

Lawrence County Links

The following are web links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relating to Lawrence County. Each of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some require a payment. This is simply a directory which has been gathered or submitted. I do not recommend or promote one genealogy site above another. Feel free to furnish your own most liked Lawrence County genealogy or family history associated sites.

Lawrence Co. SD Books, Newspapers & Publications

Lawrence Co. SD Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Lawrence Co. SD Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Lawrence Co. SD Census Records

Lawrence Co. SD Cemeteries & Church Records

Lawrence Co. SD Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Lawrence Co. SD General and History Websites

Lawrence Co. SD Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Lawrence Co. SD Military Records