Search For Your Ancestors



Towner County, North Dakota

Towner County was established on March 08, 1883 (organized in 1884) from Rolette CountyCavalier County.

The Towner County Seat is situated in Cando and the county government website is unknown

Areas next to Towner County are Manitoba, Canada, Cavalier CountyRamsey CountyBenson CountyPierce CountyRolette County.

Townships include Armourdale, Atkins, Bisbee, Bethel, Cando, Coolin, Crocus, Dash, Egeland, Gerrard, Grainfield, Hansboro, Howell, Lansing, Maza, Monroe, Mount View, New City, Olson, Paulson, Perth, Picton, Rock Lake, Sidney, Smith, Sorenson, Springfield, Teddy, Twin Hill, Victor, Virginia, Zion.

Towner County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Towner Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Towner County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Towner County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Towner County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Towner County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Towner County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Towner County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 612 East Boulevard Ave., Bismarck, ND 58505/li>
    • Phone: (701) 968-4340
  • Towner County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: 1888
    • Land Records: 1883
    • Probate Records: 1883
    • Court Records: 1883
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Towner County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Towner County. Feel free to provide your own favorite Towner County genealogy or family history related sites.

Towner Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Towner Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Towner Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Towner Co. ND Census Records

Towner Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Towner Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Towner Co. ND General and History Websites

Towner Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Towner Co. ND Military Records