Search For Your Ancestors



Slope County, North Dakota

Slope County was established on January 14, 1915 (organized in January 14, 1915) from Billings County.

The Slope County Seat is situated in Amidon and the county government website is unknown

Areas next to Slope County are Billings CountyStark CountyGolden Valley CountyFallon County, Montana, Bowman CountyAdams CountyHettinger County.

Slope County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 192019301940. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Slope County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Slope County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Slope County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Slope County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Slope County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Slope County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 04 1st St NW, Bowman, ND 58623
    • Phone: (701) 879-6278
  • Slope County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: 1915
    • Land Records: 1915
    • Probate Records: 1915
    • Court Records: 1915
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Slope County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Slope County. Feel free to provide your own favorite Slope County genealogy or family history related sites.

Slope Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Slope Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Slope Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Slope Co. ND Census Records

Slope Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Slope Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Slope Co. ND General and History Websites

Slope Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Slope Co. ND Military Records