Search For Your Ancestors



Sioux County, North Dakota

Sioux County was established on January 14, 1915 from Standing Rock Reservation.

The Sioux County Seat is situated in Fort Yates and the county government website is unknown

Areas next to Sioux County are Morton CountyEmmons CountyCorson County, South Dakota, Adams CountyGrant County.

Townships include Menz.

Sioux County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 192019301940. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Sioux County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Sioux County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Sioux County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Sioux County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Sioux County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Sioux County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 302 2nd Ave, Fort Yates, ND 58538
    • Phone: (701) 854-3481
  • Sioux County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: 1916
    • Land Records: 1915
    • Probate Records: 1915
    • Court Records: 1915
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Sioux County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Sioux County. Feel free to provide your own favorite Sioux County genealogy or family history related sites.

Sioux Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Sioux Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Sioux Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Sioux Co. ND Census Records

Sioux Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Sioux Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Sioux Co. ND General and History Websites

Sioux Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Sioux Co. ND Military Records