Search For Your Ancestors



Sargent County, North Dakota

Sargent County was established on March 03, 1883 from Ransom County.

The Sargent County Seat is situated in Forman and the county government website is unknown

Areas next to Sargent County are Ransom CountyRichland CountyMarshall County, South Dakota, Brown County, South Dakota, Dickey CountyLaMoure County.

Townships include Bowen, Brampton, Crete, Denver, Dunbar, Forman, Gwinner, Hall, Harlem, Herman, Jackson, Kingston, Marboe, Milnor, Ransom, Rutland, Sargent, Shuman, Southwest, Tewaukon, Verner, Vivian, Weber, Whitestone Hill, Willey.

Sargent County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Sargent Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Sargent County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Sargent County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Sargent County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Sargent County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Sargent County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Sargent County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 355 Main St SW, Forman, ND 58032
    • Phone: (701) 724-6241
  • Sargent County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: 1886
    • Land Records: 1883
    • Probate Records: 1883
    • Court Records: 1883
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Sargent County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Sargent County. Feel free to provide your own favorite Sargent County genealogy or family history related sites.

Sargent Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Sargent Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Sargent Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Sargent Co. ND Census Records

Sargent Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Sargent Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Sargent Co. ND General and History Websites

Sargent Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Sargent Co. ND Military Records