Search For Your Ancestors



Pierce County, North Dakota

Pierce County was established on March 11, 1887 (organized in 1889) from the now extinct DeSmet County, Bottineau CountyMcHenry County, and Rolette County.

The Pierce County Seat is situated in Rugby and the county government website is unknown

Areas next to Pierce County are Rolette CountyTowner CountyBenson CountyWells CountySheridan CountyMcHenry CountyBottineau County.

Townships include Alexanter, Antelope Lake, Balta, Elling, Elverum, Hagel, Jefferson, Meyer, Ness, Reno Valley, Rush Lake, Torgerson, Truman, Tuscarora, White.

Pierce County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Pierce Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Pierce County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Pierce County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Pierce County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Pierce County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Pierce County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Pierce County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 240 2nd St SE, Rugby, ND 58368
    • Phone: (701) 776-6161
  • Pierce County Register of Deeds / Recorder
    • Land Records: 1887
  • Pierce County Clerk of Courts
    • Marriage Records: 1888
    • Probate Records: 1887
    • Court Records: 1887
  • Pierce County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: ?
    • Land Records: ? 
    • Probate Records: ?
    • Court Records: ?
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Pierce County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Pierce County. Feel free to provide your own favorite Pierce County genealogy or family history related sites.

Pierce Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Pierce Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Pierce Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Pierce Co. ND Census Records

Pierce Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Pierce Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Pierce Co. ND General and History Websites

Pierce Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Pierce Co. ND Military Records