Search For Your Ancestors



Pembina County, North Dakota

Pembina County was established on January 09, 1867 from Indian lands.

The Pembina County Seat is situated in Cavalier and the county government website is

Areas next to Pembina County are Manitoba, Canada, Kittson County, Minnesota, Walsh CountyCavalier County.

Townships include Advance, Akra, Bathgate, Beaulieu, Carlisle, Cavalier, Concrete, Crystal, Drayton, Elora, Felson, Gardar, Hamilton, Joliette, La Moure, Lincoln, Lodema, Midland, Neche, Park, Pembina, St. Joseph, St. Thomas, Thingvalla, Walhalla.

Pembina County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 18701880 (free index)1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Pembina Co. Pembina Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1870 and 1880. Pembina Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules is available for 1870 and 1880. Pembina Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Pembina County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Pembina County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Pembina County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Pembina County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Pembina County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Pembina County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 301 Dakota St E, Cavalier, ND 58220
    • Phone: (701) 265-4373
  • Pembina County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: 1872
    • Land Records: 1867
    • Probate Records: 1867
    • Court Records: 1867
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Pembina County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Pembina ounty. Feel free to provide your own favorite Pembina County genealogy or family history related sites.

Pembina Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Pembina Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Pembina Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Pembina Co. ND Census Records

Pembina Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Pembina Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Pembina Co. ND General and History Websites

Pembina Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Pembina Co. ND Military Records