Search For Your Ancestors



Nelson County, North Dakota

Nelson County was established on March 09, 1883 from Foster CountyGrand Forks County.

The Nelson County Seat is situated in Lakota and the county government website is

Areas next to Nelson County are Walsh CountyGrand Forks CountySteele CountyGriggs CountyEddy CountyBenson CountyRamsey County.

Townships include Adler, Bergen, Central, Clara, Dahlen, Dayton, Dodds, Enterprise, Field, Forde, Hamlin, Illinois, Lakota, Lee, Leval, Melvin, Michigan, Nash, Nesheim, Ora, Osago, Petersburg, Rubin, Rugh, Sarnia, Wamduska, Williams.

Nelson County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Nelson Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Nelson County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Nelson County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Nelson County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Nelson County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Nelson County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Nelson County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 210 B Ave E, Lakota, ND 58344
    • Phone: (701) 247-2462
  • Nelson County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: 1885
    • Land Records: 1883
    • Probate Records: 1883
    • Court Records: 1883
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Nelson County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Nelson County. Feel free to provide your own favorite Nelson County genealogy or family history related sites.

Nelson Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Nelson Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Nelson Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Nelson Co. ND Census Records

Nelson Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Nelson Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Nelson Co. ND General and History Websites

Nelson Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Nelson Co. ND Military Records