Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




McHenry County, North Dakota

McHenry County

McHenry County was established on January 04, 1873 (organized in 1885) from Buffalo County in the Dakota Territory.

The McHenry County Seat is situated in Towner and the county government website is unknown

Areas next to McHenry County are Bottineau County, Pierce County, Sheridan County, McLean County, Ward County, Renville County.

Townships include Anamoose, Balfour, Bantry, Berwick, Bjornson, Brown, Cottonwood Lake, Deep River, Deering, Denbigh, Egg Creek, Falsen, Gilmore, Granville, Grilley, Hendrickson, Karlsruhe, Kottke Valley, Lake George, Lake Hester, Land, Layton, Lebanon, Little Deep, Meadow, Mouse River, Newport, Normal, North Prairie, Norwich, Odin, Olivia, Pratt, Riga, Rose Hill, Round Lake, Saline, Schiller, Spring Grove, Strege, Velva, Verendrye, Villard, Voltaire, Wagar, Willow Creek.

McHenry County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

McHenry Co. McHenry Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1880. McHenry Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules is available for 1880. McHenry Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

McHenry County Society and Family History Resources

A list of McHenry County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

McHenry County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of McHenry County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the McHenry County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • McHenry County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 407 Main St, Towner, ND 58788
    • Phone: (701) 537-5729
  • McHenry County Register of Deeds / Recorder
    • Land Records: 1873 
  • McHenry County Clerk of Courts
    • Marriage Records: 1905
    • Probate Records: 1873
    • Court Records: 1873
  • McHenry County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: ?
    • Land Records: ? 
    • Probate Records:
    • Court Records:
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

McHenry County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to McHenry ounty. Feel free to provide your own favorite McHenry County genealogy or family history related sites.

McHenry Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

McHenry Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

McHenry Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

McHenry Co. ND Census Records

McHenry Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

McHenry Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

McHenry Co. ND General and History Websites

McHenry Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

McHenry Co. ND Military Records

Copyright © 2018, tracking pixel 1 tracking pixel 2 tracking pixel 3 tracking pixel 4 tracking pixel 5 tracking pixel 6 tracking pixel 7 tracking pixel 8 tracking pixel 9 tracking pixel 10