Search For Your Ancestors



Hettinger County, North Dakota

Hettinger County was established on March 09, 1883 from Stark County. Merged back into Stark County in 1896. Recreated on May 24, 1901 from Stark County (organized in 1907) from Stark County.

The Hettinger County Seat is situated in Mott and the county government website is

Areas next to Hettinger County are Stark CountyGrant CountyAdams CountySlope County.

Townships include Acme, Ashby, Baer, Beery, Black Butte, Brittian, Campbell, Cannon Ball, Castle Rock, Chilton, Clark, Farina, Havelock, Highland, Kennedy, Kern, Kunze, Madison, Merrill, Odessa, Rifle, St. Croix, Solon, Steiner, Strehlow, Tepee Butte, Wagendorf, Walker.

Hettinger County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Hettinger Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Hettinger County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Hettinger County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Hettinger County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Hettinger County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Hettinger County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Hettinger County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 336 Pacific Ave, Mott, ND 58646
    • Phone: (701) 824-2645
  • Hettinger County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: 1907
    • Land Records: 1883
    • Probate Records: 1883
    • Court Records: 1883
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Hettinger County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Hettinger County. Feel free to provide your own favorite Hettinger County genealogy or family history related sites.

Hettinger Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Hettinger Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Hettinger Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Hettinger Co. ND Census Records

Hettinger Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Hettinger Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Hettinger Co. ND General and History Websites

Hettinger Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Hettinger Co. ND Military Records