Search For Your Ancestors



Grand Forks County, North Dakota

Grand Forks County was established on January 04, 1873 (organized in 1875) from Pembina County.

The Grand Forks County Seat is situated in Grand Forks and the county government website is

Areas next to Grand Forks County are Walsh CountyPolk County, Minnesota, Traill CountySteele CountyNelson County.

Townships include Agnes, Allendale, Americus, Arvilla, Avon, Bentru, Blooming, Brenna, Chester, Elkmount, Elm Grove, Fairfield, Falconer, Ferry, Gilby, Grace, Grand Forks, Hegton, Inkster, Johnstown, Lakeville, Larimore, Levant, Lind, Logan Center, Loretta, Mekinock, Michigan, Moraine, Niagara, Northwood, Oakville, Pleasant View, Plymouth, Rye, Strabane, Turtle River, Union, Walle, Washington, Wheatfield.

Grand Forks County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1880 (free index)1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Grand Forks Co. Grand Forks Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1880. Grand Forks Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules is available for 1880. Grand Forks Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Grand Forks County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Grand Forks County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Grand Forks County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Grand Forks County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Grand Forks County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

The following specifics denotes exactly what death, marriage, birth, land, probate, and court records are usually in Grand Forks County. The years indicated listed below are the first known records in this county. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.Coroner’s records and inquests for deaths; county judge has index to marriage certificates from 1875.

Grand Forks County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Grand Forks County. Feel free to provide your own favorite Grand Forks County genealogy or family history related sites.

Grand Forks Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Grand Forks Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Grand Forks Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Grand Forks Co. ND Census Records

Grand Forks Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Grand Forks Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Grand Forks Co. ND General and History Websites

Grand Forks Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Grand Forks Co. ND Military Records

Grand Forks Co. ND Schools & Directories