Search For Your Ancestors



Bowman County, North Dakota

Bowman County was established on March 08, 1883 from Billings County (In 1896 Bowman became part of Billings; in 1901 Bowman was re-created from Billings Co; in 1903 it was attached to Stark Co; and in 1907 it became fully organized.).

The Bowman County Seat is situated in Bowman and the county government website is

Areas next to Bowman County are Slope CountyAdams CountyHarding County, South Dakota, Fallon County, Montana ( west).

Townships include Adelaide, Amor, Bowman, Boyesen, Buena Vista, Fischbein, Gascoyne, Gem, Goldfield, Grainbelt, Grand River, Haley, Ladd, Langberg, Marion, Minnehaha, Nebo, Rhame, Scranton, Star, Stillwater, Sunny Slope, Talbot, Whiting.

Bowman County does have Federal Census Schedules to help in looking into your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Bowman Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. There are free online in addition to printable census forms to assist with your research.

Bowman County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Bowman County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Bowman County Courthouse and Government Records

Genealogist often overlook the value of Bowman County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in North Dakota courthouses and archives just about everywhere are often the aspirations and worries of countless North Dakota residents. The odds are excellent that your chosen ancestors and forefathers have left a detailed record of at least some elements of their lives in the Bowman County court records. Even if your forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, give some thought to all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

  • Bowman County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 104 1st St NW, Bowman, ND 58623
    • Phone: (701) 523-3450
  • Bowman County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents; keeping a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership.
    • Marriage Records: 1907
    • Land Records: 1883
    • Probate Records: 1883
    • Court Records: 1883
  • North Dakota Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in North Dakota for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Bowman County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Bowman ounty. Feel free to provide your own favorite Bowman County genealogy or family history related sites.

Bowman Co. ND Books, Newspapers & Publications

Bowman Co. ND Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Bowman Co. ND Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Bowman Co. ND Census Records

Bowman Co. ND Cemeteries & Church Records

Bowman Co. ND Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Bowman Co. ND General and History Websites

Bowman Co. ND Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Bowman Co. ND Military Records