Search For Your Ancestors



Wright County, Iowa
Genealogy, History & Facts

Wright County, Iowa Facts

When was Wright County, IA Created?
Wright County was established on January 15, 1851 (Organized in 1855) from Unorganized Territory. The county was named in honor of Silas Wright (1795–1847), an U. S. senator from New York and sixteenth governor of New York; and Joseph A. Wright (1810–1867), an U. S. senator from Indiana

What is the County Seat of Wright County, IA?
The County Seat is located in Clarion and the county government website is

What counties are adjacent to Wright County, IA?
Bordering Counties are Hancock CountyFranklin CountyHamilton CountyWebster CountyHumboldt County.

What cities and towns are in Wright County, IA?
Cities and towns located in the County include Belmond, Clarion, Dows, Eagle Grove, Galt, Goldfield, Rowan, Woolstock

Wright County, IA Vital Records

Where can find Wright County Birth, marriage, Divorce and Death Records?
Wright County vital records can be found at the Iowa Office of Vital Records which has copies of birth, marriage and death records from July 1880. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Iowa for current fees and application process.

You can search online for Wright County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Iowa Birth CertificateMarriage CertificateDeath Certificate Application to mail.

Wright County, IA Census Records

What Wright County, IA census records are available?
There are many types of census records for Wright County guide you in researching your family tree. Federal Population Schedules are available for 186018701880 (free index)1890 (fragment)19001910192019301940.

Wright Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1860, 1870 and 1880. Wright Co. Industry and Agriculture can be obtained for 1860, 1870 and 1880. Wright Co. Union Veterans Schedules is available for 1890.

Another Iowa census is the Iowa State Census Collection from 1836-1925. One can find free online and printable census forms to help you with your research. See Also Iowa Census Records Research Guide

Wright County, IA Courthouse and Government Records

Wright County Courthouse

What genealogical records can I find in the Wright County Courthouse?
The below facts shows exactly what death, marriage, birth, property, wills, and court records are typically in Wright County. The years listed below are the first noted records with this county. See Also Iowa Corthouse Records Research Guide.

  • Wright County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 115 N Main St, Clarion, IA 50525
    • Phone: (515) 532-3113
  • Wright County Recorder’s Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder’s Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder’s Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder’s Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
    • Birth / Death Records: 1880
    • Marriage Records: 1855
    • Land Records: 1855
  • Wright County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
    • Probate Records: 1855
    • Court Records: 1857
  • BLM Land Records

Wright County, IA Societies and Family History Resources

What genealogical and historical societies, archives, museums, associations and libraries are available for Wright County, IA?
A list of Wright County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Libraries, Archives. See also list of Statewide Iowa Archives, Historical & Genealogical Societies.

Where can I connect with other Wright County, IA Researchers through message boards and forums?

What other genealogical resources are available in Wright County, IA?
The following are web links to Genealogy, Records and Resources pertaining to Wright County. Many of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business oriented Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a cost. This is simply a list which has been compiled or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site over another.

Wright Co. IA Books, Newspapers & Publications

Wright Co. IA Cemeteries & Church Records

Wright Co. IA Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Wright Co. IA General and History Websites

Wright Co. IA Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Wright Co. IA Military Records

Wright Co. IA Schools & Directories