Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Middlesex County, Connecticut

Middlesex County

Middlesex County was established on May 2, 1785 and was formed from Hartford County and New Haven County. The county was named for Middlesex, England. The County Seat was Middletown (1785-1960)

Areas adjacent to Middlesex County are Hartford County, New London County, New Haven County.

Middlesex County vital records can be found at the Connecticut Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Connecticut for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

You can search online for Middlesex County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Connecticut Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Death Certificate Application or Town or City Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Middlesex County does have Federal Census Schedules to guide in looking into your family tree. Federal government Population Schedules are available for 1790-1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Middlesex Co. Mortality Schedules can be obtained for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Middlesex Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Middlesex Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890. One can find free online and printable census forms that can help with your research.

Middlesex County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Middlesex County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Middlesex County Courthouse and Government Records

Researchers often overlook the importance of Middlesex County court, probate, and land records as a source of genealogy and family history information. Buried away in Connecticut courthouses and archives everywhere are the dreams and frustrations of many Connecticut citizens. The chances are great that your ancestors have left a detailed record of at least some aspects of their lives in the Middlesex County court records. Even if your ancestor is not mentioned in a Court case, consider all of the other procedures which could have lead to him or her appearing in court records.

Middlesex County Links

The following are links to Genealogy, Records and Resources relating to Middlesex County. These genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Commercial Sites, Personal Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some require a payment.  This is just a list that has been collected or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site above another. Feel free to submit your own favorite genealogy or family history related sites.

Middlesex Co. CT Books, Newspapers & Publications

Middlesex Co. CT Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Middlesex Co. CT Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Middlesex Co. CT Census Records

Middlesex Co. CT Church & Cemeteries

Middlesex Co. CT Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Middlesex Co. CT General and History Websites

Middlesex Co. CT Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Middlesex Co. CT Military Records

Middlesex Co. CT Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2018, tracking pixel 1 tracking pixel 2 tracking pixel 3 tracking pixel 4 tracking pixel 5 tracking pixel 6 tracking pixel 7 tracking pixel 8 tracking pixel 9 tracking pixel 10