Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Emery County, Utah

Emery County

Emery County was established on February 12, 1880 from Sanpete County. The county was named in honor of George W. Emery (1830–1909), Governor of the Utah Territory from 1875–1880.

Currently the Emery County Seat is situated in Castle Dale plus the county government website is

Areas neighboring Emery County are Carbon County (north), Grand County (east), Wayne County (south), Sevier County (southwest), Sanpete County (northwest).

Cities and towns found in Emery County consists of Castle Dale, Clawson, Cleveland, Elmo, Emery, Ferron, Green River, Huntington, Lawrence, Mohrland (ghost town), Moore, Orangeville, Woodside (ghost town).

Emery County vital records can be found at the Utah Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Utah for current fees and application process. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

You can search online for Emery County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Utah Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Beaver County includes Federal Census Schedules to assist in researching your family tree. Government Population Schedules are available for 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Emery Co. Mortality Schedules can be acquired for 1880. Emery Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules can be obtained for 1880. Emery Co. Union Veterans Schedules is available for 1890. You'll find free down-loadable and also printable census forms that can help with your research.

Emery County Society and Family History Resources

A list of Emery County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Emery County Courthouse and Government Records

Emery County Courthouse

Researchers frequently fail to notice the advantages of Emery County court, probate, and land records data as a useful resource of genealogy information and facts. Hidden away in Utah courthouses and archives everywhere tend to be the desires and frustrations of the many Utah men and women. The chances are great that your potential ancestors have left a in-depth document of at least several aspects of their lives in the Emery County court records. Even if your ancestors and forefathers is not mentioned in a Court case, take into consideration all of the other procedures which may have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

The below facts indicates whatever marriage, birth, death, land, wills, and court records can be found in Emery County. The dates stated listed below are considered the first widely known documents in this county.

You should get in touch with the clerk's dept to validate hours, mailing address, fees and other particulars in advance of visiting or requesting information because of occasionally changing contact details. The Department Offices DO NOT DO RESEARCH. The records and documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues. The majority of staff will guide individuals in locating the materials, however it is up to the individual to do the research.
  • Emery County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 1850 N 560 W, Castle Dale, UT 84513
    • Phone: (435) 381-2465
  • Emery County Clerk responsibilities are to conduct Countywide elections, issue marriage licenses, issue business licenses for the unincorporated county,
  • Emery County Recorder duties include Record, store and retrieve land documents in the public record; Assist the public in locating real property parcels on ownership plats; Assist the public in locating records; Record Military Discharges and provide certified copies of these documents at no charge; Sell copies of documents and plats to the public
    • Land Records: 1881
  • Emery County Clerk of District Court duties services include Divorce, Protective Orders, Guardianship and other civil matters.
    • Address: 149 East 100 South, Price, UT 84501
    • Phone: (435) 636-3400
    • Probate Records: 1887 
    • Court Records: 1887 

Emery County Links

The following are links to Genealogy and family history, Records and Resources relevant to Emery County. These genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business Sites, Personal Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a fee. This is merely a list which has been compiled or submitted. I do not recommend or promote one genealogy site above another. Feel free to suggest your own preferred Emery County genealogy or family history associated sites.

Emery Co. UT Books, Newspapers & Publications

Emery Co. UT Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Emery Co. UT Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Emery Co. UT Census Records

Emery Co. UT Cemeteries & Church Records

Emery Co. UT Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Emery Co. UT General and History Websites

Emery Co. UT Immigration & Naturalization

Emery Co. UT Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Emery Co. UT Military Records

Emery Co. UT Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2014,