State of North Dakota
County & City Government Records

North Dakota Government records cover a wide range of genealogy topics that can help you in your research, including land ownership, courts, taxes, and naturalizations. Since North Dakota court records cover such a wide variety of subjects, they can help you in many different ways. For example, they may help you locate ancestors' residences, determine occupations, find financial information, establish citizenship status, or clarify relationships between people. It all depends on the type of court records that your ancestors" names appear in. For Definitions of all court trems see the Genealogy Encyclopedia.

County records vary widely from county to county in both quality and quantity. There are four types of court records that are most likely to have information relevant to your genealogical research.

North Dakota is divided into 53  counties. North Dakota is located in the northwest region of the central part of the United States. Although its largest city is Fargo, its capital city is Bismarck. It shares its eastern border with Minnesota and its western border with Montana. As the name suggests, South Dakota shares its southern border, while Canada borders it to the north. North Dakota is known as a "plains state" and most of the state is economically supported by its agricultural industries.

This list of county and city government links is limited to government-maintained websites. If you know of a North Dakota county that has an official government web site but is not linked, or if the link is in error, please send us an email so we may edit our database. North Dakota State Government is located in Bismarck.

State of North Dakota County & City Government Links
County Seat
County Seat
Adams Hettinger McLean Washburn
Barnes Valley City Mercer Stanton
Benson Minnewaukan Morton Mandan
Billings Medora Mountrail Stanley
Bottineau Bottineau Nelson Lakota
Bowman Bowman Oliver Center
Burke Bowbells Pembina Cavalier
Burleigh Bismarck Pierce Rugby
Cass Fargo Ramsey Devils Lake
Cavalier Langdon Ransom Lisbon
Dickey Ellendale Renville Mohall
Divide Crosby Richland Wahpeton
Dunn Manning Rolette Rolla
Eddy New Rockford Sargent Forman
Emmons Linton Sheridan McClusky
Foster Carrington Sioux Fort Yates
Golden Valley Beach Slope Amidon
Grand Forks Grand Forks Stark Dickinson
Grant Carson Steele Finley
Griggs Cooperstown Stutsman Jamestown
Hettinger Mott Towner Cando
Kidder Steele Traill Hillsboro
LaMoure LaMoure Walsh Grafton
Logan Napoleon Ward Minot
McHenry Towner Wells Fessenden
McIntosh Ashley Williams Williston
McKenzie Watford City    
Copyright © 2014,