State of New Mexico
County & City Government Records

New Mexico Court records cover a wide range of genealogy topics that can help you in your research, including land ownership, courts, taxes, and naturalizations. Since New Mexico court records cover such a wide variety of subjects, they can help you in many different ways. For example, they may help you locate ancestors' residences, determine occupations, find financial information, establish citizenship status, or clarify relationships between people. It all depends on the type of court records that your ancestors" names appear in. For Definitions of all court trems see the Genealogy Encyclopedia.

New Mexico is divided into 33 counties. County records vary widely from county to county in both quality and quantity. There are four types of court records that are most likely to have information relevant to your genealogical research.


This list of county and city government links is limited to government-maintained websites. If you know of a New Mexico county that has an official government web site but is not linked, or if the link is in error, please send us an email so we may edit our database. New Mexico State Government is located in Santa Fe.

State of New MexicoCounty & City Government Links
County Seat
County Seat
Bernalillo Albuquerque McKinley Gallup
Catron Reserve Mora Mora
Chaves Roswell Otero Alamogordo
Cibola Grants Quay Tucumcari
Colfax Raton Rio Arriba Tierra Amarilla
Curry Clovis Roosevelt Portales
De Baca Fort Sumner San Juan Aztec
Dona Ana Las Cruces San Miguel Las Vegas
Eddy Carlsbad Sandoval Bernalillo
Grant Silver City Santa Fe Santa Fe
Guadalupe Santa Rosa Sierra Truth or Consequences
Harding Mosquero Socorro Socorro
Hidalgo Lordsburg Taos Taos
Lea Lovington Torrance Estancia
Lincoln Carrizozo Union Clayton
Los Alamos Los Alamos Valencia Los Lunas
Luna Deming    
Copyright © 2014,