Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Livingston County, Missouri
Genealogy, History & Facts

Livingston County, Missouri Facts

Livingston County

When was Livingston County, MO Created?
Livingston County was created on January 6, 1837 from Carroll County. The county was named in honor of Edward Livingston (1764-1836), a prominent American jurist and statesman, influential in the drafting of the Louisiana Civil Code of 1825, a civil code based largely on the Napoleonic Code.

What is the County Seat of Livingston County, MO?
The County Seat is located in Chillicothe and in addition the county government website is

What counties are adjacent to Livingston County, MO?
Bordering Counties are Grundy County (north), Linn County (east), Chariton County (southeast), Carroll County (south), Caldwell County (southwest), Daviess County.

What cities and towns are in Livingston County, MO?
Cities and towns located in the County include Avalon, Chillicothe, Chula, Dawn, Ludlow, Mooresville, Utica, Wheeling.

Livingston County, MO Vital Records

Where can find Livingston County Birth, marriage, Divorce and Death Records?
Livingston County vital records can be found at the Missouri Office of Vital Records has copies of birth and death records reported from January 1, 1910. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Missouri for current fees and application process.

You can search online for Livingston County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Missouri Birth and Death CertificateMarriage and Divorce Certificate Application to mail.

Another resource is the Livingston County Health Department has Birth Certificates since 1920 and Death Certificates since 1980.

Livingston County, MO Census Records

What Livingston County, MO census records are available?
There are many types of census records for Livingston County guide you in researching your family tree. Federal Population Schedules are available for 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Livingston Co. Slave Schedules is available for 1850 & 1860. Livingston Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Livingston Co. Industry and Agriculture can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Livingston Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be acquired for 1890. There are free down-loadable and printable census forms to help you with your research. See Also Missouri Census Records Research Guide

Livingston County, MO Courthouse and Government Records

Livingston County Courthouse

What genealogical records can I find in the Livingston County Courthouse?
The below facts shows exactly what death, marriage, birth, property, wills, and court records are typically in Livingston County. The years listed below are the first noted records with this county. See Also Missouri Corthouse Records Research Guide.

  • Livingston County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 700 Webster St., Chillicothe, MO 64601
  • Livingston County Recorder of Deeds is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
    • Phone: 660-646-8000, Ext. 6
    • Marriage Records: 1837 (including Index to marriage records, (no dates); Marriage records, 1837-1915) 
    • Land Records: 1837 (including Index to deeds, 1837-1895; Deed records, 1837-1909)
  • Livingston County Circuit Court Clerk / Probate Court Clerk has the direct index to records such as divorces, adoptions, judgment, and tax fee books including direct and indirect indexes. They also retain the index to criminal records and criminal files of the circuit court. Adoptions are under the jurisdiction of the circuit court. Naturalization records, including petitions, declarations of intention, certificates, and certificates of allegiance, and granting of citizenship are also located in the clerk's office, as well as an index to civil case files. The County Probate Division has jurisdiction over the estates of deceased persons. The Division hears all litigation involving trusts, including those trusts established in wills. (In the smaller counties, probate matters are handled in the same office as the associate circuit court office)
    • Phone: 660-646-8000
    • Probate Records: 1837  (including Index to probate records, ?-1915; Probate records, 1837-1891; Administrator’s/executor’s letters, bonds and records, 1868-1909; Inventories, appraisements and sale bills, 1867-1903; Settlement records, 1860-1890; Guardian’s/curator’s records, 1857-1866; Will records, 1837-1925)
    • Court & Divorce Records: 1837 (including Circuit court records, 1837-1886)
  • Livingston County Clerk of the Court has indexes to common pleas, records of all extant proceedings, chancery minute books, records of births and deaths, county court records, right-of-way and road records, as well as surveyor's records (including field notes and plats made by the county surveyor). This office usually holds the county treasurer's notes, bonds and commissions, records of marks and brands, wolf scalps, stray notices, real estate assessments, and tax books. In some counties, early terms for this court included “Chancery” or the “Court of Common Pleas.”
    • Phone: 660-646-8000 ext 3
    • Birth & Death Records: 1883-91 (including Register of births and stillbirths, 1883-1891; Record of births, 1883-1890; Register of deaths, 1883-1890)
  • Livingston County Tax Assessor Office is responsible for appraising and assessing real estate property and person property for the purpose of taxation as well as transferring ownership of real estate, and keeping real estate maps up to date.
  • Livingston County, Missouri Deeds, 1855-57, Volumes 2, 3, 5, 6
  • Livingston County, Missouri Probate Records, Volumes I, III, V, and VII-XIII
  • Livingston County, Missouri Deeds, Books 1 and 2
  • Livingston County, Missouri Wills and Administrations 1837-1870  
  • Local Records Inventory Database
  • State-Issued Land Patents 1831 - 1969
  • BLM Land Records

Livingston County, MO Societies and Family History Resources

What genealogical and historical societies, archives, museums, associations and libraries are available for Livingston County, MO?
A list of Livingston County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Libraries, Archives. See also list of Statewide Missouri Archives, Historical & Genealogical Societies.

Where can I connect with other Livingston County, MO Researchers through message boards and forums?

What other genealogical resources are available in Livingston County, MO?
The following are web links to Genealogy, Records and Resources pertaining to Livingston County. A majority of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a payment. This is just a directory which has been gathered or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site above another.

Livingston Co. MO Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Livingston Co. MO Books, Newspapers & Publications

Livingston Co. GA Cemeteries & Church Records

Livingston Co. MO Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Livingston Co. MO General and History Websites

Livingston Co. MO Military Records

Livingston Co. MO Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2014,