Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Knox County, Missouri

Knox County

Knox County was created on February 14, 1845 from Scotland County. The county was named in honor of Henry Knox (1750-1806) an American bookseller from Boston who became the chief artillery officer of the Continental Army and later the nation's first Secretary of War.

The Knox County Seat is situated in Edina and in addition the county government website is

Areas surrounding Knox County include Scotland County (north), Clark County (northeast), Lewis County (east), Shelby County (south), Macon County (southwest), Adair County (west).

Cities and towns to be found in Knox County include Baring, Colony, Edina, Hurdland, Knox City, Newark, Novelty, Plevna.

Knox County vital records can be found at the Missouri Office of Vital Records has copies of birth and death records reported from January 1, 1910. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Missouri for current fees and application process./p>

You can search online for Knox County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Missouri Birth and Death CertificateMarriage and Divorce Certificate Application to mail.

Knox County has Federal Census Schedules to help in researching your family tree. Government Population Schedules are present for 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Knox Co. Slave Schedules is available for 1850 & 1860. Knox Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Knox Co. Industry and Agriculture can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Knox Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be acquired for 1890. There are free down-loadable and printable census forms to help you with your research.

Knox County Societies and Family History Resources

A list of Knox County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Knox County Courthouse and Government Records

Researchers frequently forget about the value of Knox County court, probate, and land files as a source of family history and genealogy information. Buried away in Missouri courthouses and archives just about everywhere could be the ambitions and worries of many Missouri residents.

The odds are great that your potential ancestors have left a comprehensive record of at least a number of aspects of their lives in the Knox County court records. Even if your forefathers is not brought up in a Court case, take into consideration all of the other procedures which often can have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

The following indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Knox county. The dates indicated below are the first known records for this county which may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, court records, and so forth. Fire destroyed the courthouse on Christmas Eve 1885. No records were destroyed

You need to call the clerk's dept to validate hours, mailing address, fees and other facts before visiting or looking for information because of in some cases changing contact details. The Department Offices DO NOT DO RESEARCH. The data files are accessible to interested parties, barring private issues. A lot of staff will guide men and women in locating the resources, but it's up to the particular person to complete the research.
  • Knox County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
    • Address: 107 N 4th Street, Edina, MO 63537
  • Knox County Recorder of Deeds is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
    • Phone: 660-397-4005
    • Marriage Records: 1845 (including Index to marriage records, 1845-1920; Marriage records, 1845-1920; Register of marriage license, 1883-1944; Military discharge records, 1862-1977) 
    • Land Records: 1845 (including Index to deeds, 1838-1889; Deed records, 1845-1913)
  • Knox County Circuit Court Clerk / Probate Court Clerk has the direct index to records such as divorces, adoptions, judgment, and tax fee books including direct and indirect indexes. They also retain the index to criminal records and criminal files of the circuit court. Adoptions are under the jurisdiction of the circuit court. Naturalization records, including petitions, declarations of intention, certificates, and certificates of allegiance, and granting of citizenship are also located in the clerk's office, as well as an index to civil case files. The County Probate Division has jurisdiction over the estates of deceased persons. The Division hears all litigation involving trusts, including those trusts established in wills. (In the smaller counties, probate matters are handled in the same office as the associate circuit court office)
    • Phone: (660) 397-3974
    • Probate Records: 1845  (including Index to probate records, 1845-1918; Probate records, 1845-1889; Probate minutes, 1855-1877; Administrator’s/executor’s letters, bonds and records, 1847-1859 and 1882-1894; Inventories, appraisements and sale bills, 1858-1898; Settlement records, 1872-1906; Guardian’s/curator’s records, 1847-1859 and 1879-1887; Will records, 1849-1918)
    • Court & Divorce Records: 1845 (including Index to circuit court records, 1845-1912; Circuit court records, 1845-1885)
  • Knox County Clerk of the Court has indexes to common pleas, records of all extant proceedings, chancery minute books, records of births and deaths, county court records, right-of-way and road records, as well as surveyor's records (including field notes and plats made by the county surveyor). This office usually holds the county treasurer's notes, bonds and commissions, records of marks and brands, wolf scalps, stray notices, real estate assessments, and tax books. In some counties, early terms for this court included “Chancery” or the “Court of Common Pleas.”
    • Phone: (660) 397-2184
    • Birth & Death Records: 1883-1939 (including Permanent record of births, 1883-1939; Register of births and stillbirths, 1883-1891; Permanent record of deaths, 1883-1893)
  • Knox County Tax Assessor Office is responsible for appraising and assessing real estate property and person property for the purpose of taxation as well as transferring ownership of real estate, and keeping real estate maps up to date.
  • Knox County Health Department has Birth Certificates since 1920 and Death Certificates since 1980

Knox County Links

The following are links to Family history and genealogy, Records and Resources associated to Knox County. A majority of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a payment. This is just a directory which has been gathered or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site above another. Feel free to present your own most liked Knox County genealogy or family history related sites.

Knox Co. MO Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Knox Co. MO Books, Newspapers & Publications

Knox Co. MO Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Knox Co. MO Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Knox Co. MO Census Records

Knox Co. MO Cemeteries & Graveyards

Knox Co. MO Church & Bible Records

Knox Co. MO Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Knox Co. MO General and History Websites

Knox Co. MO Military Records

Knox Co. MO Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2014,