Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Worcester County, Massachusetts
Genealogy, History & Facts

Worcester County, Massachusetts Facts

Worcester County

When was Worcester County, MA Created?
Worcester County was founded on April 2, 1731 from Hampshire County, Middlesex County and Suffolk County. The county was named for its county seat of Worcester, which is named in honor of the English city of Worcester and the English Civil War Battle of Worcester in 1651, a Parliamentarian victory.

What is the County Seat of Worcester County, MA?
The County Seat is located in Worcester and the county government was abolished on July 1, 1998. Though Worcester County still remains, the county governmenthas been "abolished" , their offices being put under the direction of certain state offices. Example: the Registry of Deeds offices in abolished counties are now under the direction of the Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office;  Sheriffs and jails are under the Secretary of Public Safety.

What counties are adjacent to Worcester County, MA?
Bordering Counties are Cheshire County, New Hampshire, Hillsborough County, New Hampshire (north/northeast), Middlesex County (east/northeast), Norfolk County (east/southeast), Providence County, Rhode Island (south/southeast), Windham County, Connecticut, Tolland County, Connecticut (south/southwest), Hampden County (west/southwest), Hampshire County, Franklin County (west/northwest).

What cities and towns are in Worcester County, MA?
Cities and towns located in the County include Ashburnham, Athol, Auburn, Barre, Berlin, Blackstone, Bolton, Boylston, Brookfield, Charlton, Clinton, Douglas, Dudley, East Brookfield, East Douglas, East Templeton, Fitchburg, Gardner, Grafton, Harvard, Holden, Hopedale, Hubbardston, Lancaster, Leicester, Leominster, Lunenburg, Mendon, Milford, Millbury, Millville, New Braintree, North Brookfield, North Grafton, Northborough, Oakham, Oxford, Paxton, Petersham, Phillipston, Princeton, Royalston, Rutland, Shrewsbury, South Grafton, South Royalston, Southborough, Southbridge, Spencer, Sterling, Sturbridge, Sutton, Templeton, Upton, Uxbridge, Warren, Webster, Westborough, West Boylston, West Brookfield, Westminster, Winchendon, and Worcester.

Worcester County, MA Vital Records

Where can find Worcester County Birth, marriage, Divorce and Death Records?
Worcester County vital records can be found at the Massachusetts Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Massachusetts for current fees and application process. Vital Records have been registered in Massachusetts since 1635. Statewide collection began in 1841. There is a fee for each copy requested. Records for events that occurred from 1841-1910 are available at the State Archives.

Worcester County Town Clerks has copies of vital records (birth, marriage, divorce and death records). Clerks respond to inquiries regarding vital records, since most have indexes available.

You can search online for Worcester County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for Massachusetts Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Worcester County, MA Census Records

What Worcester County, MA census records are available?
There are many types of census records for Worcester County guide you in researching your family tree. Federal Population Schedules are available for 1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Worcester Co. Mortality Schedules can be obtained for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Worcester Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Worcester Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be found for 1890.

Massachusetts state censuses exist for the years 1855 and 1865. There is free down-loadable and also printable census forms to help you with your research. See Also Massachusetts Census Records Research Guide

Worcester County, MA Courthouse and Government Records

Worcester County Courthouse

What genealogical records can I find in the Worcester County Courthouse?
The below facts shows exactly what death, marriage, birth, property, wills, and court records are typically in Worcester County. The years listed below are the first noted records with this county. For Town Records contact the Town Clerk (Helpful Telephone Listings for your City/Town Hall). See Also Massachusetts Corthouse Records Research Guide.

Old Worcester County Courthouse

Worcester County, MA Societies and Family History Resources

What genealogical and historical societies, archives, museums, associations and libraries are available for Worcester County, MA?
A list of Worcester County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Libraries, Archives. See also list of Statewide Massachusetts Archives, Historical & Genealogical Societies.

Where can I connect with other Worcester County, MA Researchers through message boards and forums?

What other genealogical resources are available in Worcester County, MA?
The following are web links to Genealogy, Records and Resources pertaining to Worcester County. A lot of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business oriented Sites, Personal Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some call for a cost. This is just a collection which has been compiled or submitted. I do not recommend or promote one genealogy site above another.

Worcester Co. MA Books, Newspapers & Publications

Worcester Co. MA Cemeteries & Church Records

Worcester Co. MA Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Worcester Co. MA General and History Websites

Worcester Co. MA Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Worcester Co. MA Military Records

Worcester Co. MA Schools & Directories

Copyright © 2014,