Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Elliott County, Kentucky
Genealogy, History & Facts

Elliott County, Kentucky Facts

When was Elliott County, KY Created?
Elliott County was created on April 1, 1869 from Carter County, Lawrence County and Morgan County. Currently the county was named in honor of John Milton Elliott (1820–1885), U.S. Representative from Kentucky.

What is the County Seat of Elliott County, KY?
The County Seat is located in Sandy Hook additionally, the county government website is

What counties are adjacent to Elliott County, KY?
Bordering Counties are Carter County (north), Lawrence County (east), Morgan County (south), Rowan County (west).

What cities and towns are in Elliott County, KY?
Cities and towns located in the County include Ault, Bascom, Beartown, Bell City, Bigstone, Blaines Trace, Bruin, Brushy Fork, Burke, Clay Fork, Cliffside, Culver, Dewdrop, Dobbins, Edsel, Eldridge, Fannin, Fannin Valley, Faye, Fielden, Forks of Newcombe, Gimlet, Gomez, Green, Halcom, Ibex, Isonville, Little Fork, Little Sandy, Lytten, Middle Fork, Neil Howard's Creek, Newcombe, Newfoundland, Ordinary, Roscoe, Shady Grove, Sandy Hook, Sarah, Sideway, Spanglin, Stark, Stephens, The Ridge, Wells Creek, Wyatt .

Elliott County, KY Vital Records

Where can find Elliott County Birth, marriage, Divorce and Death Records?
Elliott County vital records can be found at the Kentucky Department of Health (VDH) Office of Vital Records which has copies for of birth & deathe certificates (1911 - present), marriage licenses & divorce decrees (since June 1958). There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Kentucky for current fees and application process.

You can search online for Elliott County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or you can download an application for Birth CertificateMarriage / Divorce Certificate or Death Certificates to mail.

The Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives contains birth and death records for the cities of Louisville, Lexington, Covington and Newport, which introduced records laws before 1911. The Archives also offers birth and death records before to 1911 and 1911-1957 death records for the entire state.

Elliott County, KY Census Records

What Elliott County, KY census records are available?
There are many types of census records for Elliott County guide you in researching your family tree. Federal Population Schedules are available for 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Elliott Co. Mortality Schedules can be acquired for 1870 and 1880. Elliott Co. Industry and Agriculture Schedules can be acquired for 1870 and 1880. Elliott Co. Union Veterans Schedules can be obtained for 1890. One can find free down loadable and also printable census forms to help you with your research. See Also Kentucky Census Records Research Guide

Elliott County, KY Courthouse and Government Records

Elliott County Courthouse

What genealogical records can I find in the Elliott County Courthouse?
The below facts shows exactly what death, marriage, birth, property, wills, and court records are typically in Elliott County. The years listed below are the first noted records with this county. See Also Kentucky Corthouse Records Research Guide.

  • Elliottd County Clerk has three main responsibilities. One is the recording of Land records (the most common documents recorded are deeds, mortgage releases, entries, warrants, surveys, mortgages, assignments, and indexes), Probate records (may include such documents as wills, estates, letters of administration, administrators, executors, probate journals, probate packets, inventories, settlements, sales, accounts, guardianship, orphans, insolvent estates, bastardy, apprentices, insanity and adoptions) and Marriage Liscenses
    • Address: 100 South Cross St., Albany, KY, 42602
    • Phone: (606) 387-5258
    • Marriage Records: 1874 
    • Land Records: 1869
    • Probate Records: 1966
  • Elliott County Clerk of the Circuit Court has countywide jurisdiction over major civil and criminal cases, divorces, and appeals from inferior courts.
    • Address: Elliott County Courthouse Annex, 100 Court and Main Streets, P.O. Box 788, Sandy Hook, KY 41171-0788
    • Phone: (606) 738-5238
    • Court Records: 1958
  • Elliott County Tax Information and Contacts. Some early tax schedules list watercourse, value and acreage of real estate, men over age twenty-one, young men between the ages of sixteen and twenty-one, slaves, and horses.
  •  Kentucky, Wills and Probate Records, 1774-1989
  • Elliott County Elected Officials (
  • Will/Probate Record Request Form
  • BLM Land Records
  • Elliott County USGenWeb Archives Project

Elliott County, KY Societies and Family History Resources

What genealogical and historical societies, archives, museums, associations and libraries are available for Elliott County, KY?
A list of Elliott County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Libraries, Archives. See also list of Statewide Kentucky Archives, Historical & Genealogical Societies.

Where can I connect with other Elliott County, KY Researchers through message boards and forums?

What other genealogical resources are available in Elliott County, KY?
The following are web links to Genealogy, Records and Resources pertaining to Elliott County. These genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Professional Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some have to have a payment. This is basically a collection that has been gathered or submitted. I do not endorse or promote one genealogy site over another.

Elliott Co. KY Books, Newspapers & Publications

Elliott Co. KY Church / Bible Records & Cemeteries / Graveyards

Elliott Co. KY General and History Websites

Elliott Co. KY Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Elliott Co. KY Military Records

Copyright © 2014,