State of Iowa
County & City Government Records

Iowa Court records cover a wide range of genealogy subject areas that could aid you with your research, such as land ownership, courts, taxes, and naturalizations. Since Iowa court records cover a wide range of topics, they can help you in many various ways. For example, they may assist you to identify ancestors' residences, confirm occupations, discover financial information, identify citizenship status, or make clear relationships between people. The whole thing will depend on on the kind of court records that your particular ancestors" names can be found in. For Definitions of all court trems see the Genealogy Encyclopedia.

Iowa County records differ extensively from county to county in both quality and volume. There are several types of court records that are in all likelihood to possess details applicable for your genealogical research.

Iowa is divided into 99  counties. One of the most significant days in Iowa county history was January 15, 1851, on which 49 counties were created.

This list of county and city government links is limited to government-maintained websites. If you know of a Iowa county that has an official government web site but is not linked, or if the link is in error, please send us an email so we may edit our database. Iowa State Government is located in Des Moines.

State of Iowa County & City Government Links
County Seat
County Seat
Adair Greenfield Jefferson Fairfield
Adams Corning Johnson Iowa City
Allamakee Waukon Jones Anamosa
Appanoose Centerville Keokuk Sigourney
Audubon Audubon Kossuth Algona
Benton Vinton Lee Fort Madison & Keokuk
Black Hawk Waterloo Linn Cedar Rapids
Boone Boone Louisa Wapello
Bremer Waverly Lucas Chariton
Buchanan Independence Lyon Rock Rapids
Buena Vista Storm Lake Madison Winterset
Butler Allison Mahaska Oskaloosa
Calhoun Rockwell City   Marion Knoxville
Carroll Carroll Marshall Marshalltown
Cass Atlantic Mills Glenwood
Cedar Tipton Mitchell Osage
Cerro Gordo Mason City Monona Onawa
Cherokee Cherokee Monroe Albia
Chickasaw New Hampton Montgomery Red Oak
Clarke Osceola Muscatine Muscatine
Clay Spencer O'Brien Primghar
Clayton Elkader Osceola Sibley
Clinton Clinton Palo Alto Emmetsburg
Crawford Denison Page Clarinda
Dallas Adel Plymouth Le Mars
Davis Bloomfield Pocahontas Pocahontas
Decatur Leon Polk Des Moines
Delaware Manchester Pottawattamie Council Bluffs
Des Moines Burlington Poweshiek Montezuma
Dickinson Spirit Lake Ringgold Mount Ayr
Dubuque Dubuque Sac Sac City
Emmet Estherville Scott Davenport
Fayette West Union Shelby Harlan
Floyd Charles City Sioux Orange City
Franklin Hampton Story Nevada
Fremont Sidney Tama Toledo
Greene Jefferson Taylor Bedford
Grundy Grundy Center Union Creston
Guthrie Guthrie Center Van Buren Keosauqua
Hamilton Webster City Wapello Ottumwa
Hancock Garner Warren Indianola
Hardin Eldora Washington Washington
Harrison Logan Wayne Corydon
Henry Mount Pleasant Webster Fort Dodge
Howard Cresco Winnebago Forest City
Humboldt Dakota City Winneshiek Decorah
Ida Ida Grove Woodbury Sioux City
Iowa Marengo Worth Northwood
Jackson Maquoketa Wright Clarion
Jasper Newton      
Copyright © 2014,