State of Illinois
County & City Government Records

Illinois Court records address a wide selection of genealogy subject areas that may aid you with your research, including land ownership, courts, taxes, and naturalizations. Given that Illinois court records cover a wide range of topics, they can help you in many various ways. For instance, they will often allow you to find ancestors' residences, identify occupations, identify financial information, identify citizenship status, or clarify relationships between people. It all will depend on on what type of court records that your particular ancestors" names can be found in. For Definitions of all court trems see the Genealogy Encyclopedia.

Illinois County records can vary greatly from county to county in both level of quality and quantity. You will find four forms of court records that are most likely to have details relevant for your genealogical research.

Illinois is divided into 102 counties. Each county serves as the local level of government within its borders. The circuit court clerk's office holds administrations, probate documents, and wills. The recorder of deeds holds leases, deeds, and mortgages. Researchers submitting requests in writing should use the county officer title and the heading "County Courthouse," along with the address.

This list of county and city government links is limited to government-maintained websites. If you know of a Illinois county that has an official government web site but is not linked, or if the link is in error, please send us an email so we may edit our database.  Illinois State Government is located in Springfield.

The executive branch consists of the governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, treasurer, and comptroller, all elected to unlimited four-year terms. The governor has the power to reorganize state government and also has a line-item veto.

Illinois’s General Assembly comprises a 59-member Senate and a 118-member House of Representatives. Senators serve two four-year terms and one two-year term each decade; the relative timing of these terms varies by legislative district. Representatives serve two-year terms and are elected from single-member districts.

State of Illinois County & City Government Links
County Seat
County Seat
Adams Quincy Livingston Pontiac
Alexander Cairo Logan Lincoln
Bond Greenville La Salle Ottawa
Boone Belvidere Madison Edwardsville
Brown Mount Sterling McDonough Macomb
Bureau Princeton McHenry Woodstock
Calhoun Hardin McLean Bloomington
Carroll Mount Carroll Macon Decatur
Cass Virginia Menard Petersburg
Champaign Urbana Mercer Aledo
Christian Taylorville Morgan Jacksonville
Clinton Carlyle Moultrie Sullivan
Clark Marshall Macoupin Carlinville
Clay Louisville Marion Salem
Coles Charleston Monroe Waterloo
Cook Chicago Massac Metropolis
Crawford Robinson Marshall Lacon
Cumberland Toledo Mason Havana
De Kalb Sycamore Montgomery Hillsboro
Douglas Tuscola Ogle Oregon
DeWitt Clinton Peoria Peoria
DuPage Wheaton Perry Pinckneyville
Edgar Paris Piatt Monticello
Edwards Albion Pike Pittsfield
Effingham Effingham Pope Golconda
Fayette Vandalia Pulaski Mound City
Ford Paxton Putnam Hennepin
Franklin Benton Randolph Chester
Fulton Lewistown Richland Olney
Gallatin Shawneetown Rock Island Rock Island
Grundy Morris Saline Harrisburg
Greene Carrollton Sangamon Springfield
Hamilton McLeansboro St. Clair Belleville
Hancock Carthage Schuyler Rushville
Hardin Elizabethtown Scott Winchester
Henry Oquawka Shelby Shelbyville
Henderson Cambridge Stark Toulon
Iroquois Watseka Stephenson Freeport
Jackson Murphysboro Tazewell Pekin
Jasper Newton Union Jonesboro
Jo Daviess Galena Vermilion Danville
Jefferson Mount Vernon Wabash Mount Carmel
Jersey Jerseyville Warren Monmouth
Johnson Vienna Washington Nashville
Kane Geneva Wayne Fairfield
Kankakee Kankakee Will Joliet
Kendall Yorkville Winnebago Rockford
Knox Galesburg Woodford Eureka
Lake Waukegan Whiteside Morrison
Lawrence Lawrenceville Williamson Marion
Lee   Dixon White Carmi
Copyright © 2014,