State of Georgia
County & City Government Records

State of Georgia Quick Facts
Statehood January 2, 1788 (4th)
Counties 159
State Capital Atlanta
Land Area 59,425 Sq Miles (24th)
Population (2012) 9,919,945 (8th)
U.S. House Delegation 14 (D5 - R9)
Governor Nathan Deal (R) Office
Lt. Governor Casey Cagle (R) Office
Secretary of State (D) Office
Attorney General (D) Office
State Flower  Cherokee Rose
State Tree Southern Live Oak
State Song Georgia on My Mind 
State Bird Brown Thrasher
State Nickname "Empire State of the South" and " The Peach State"
State Motto Wisdom, Justice, and Moderation

Georgia Court records include a wide variety of genealogy subject areas that can assist you in your research, such as land ownership, courts, taxes, and naturalizations. Since Georgia court records cover a wide range of subjects, they can help you in many different ways. Such as, they might allow you to locate ancestors' residences, identify occupations, find financial information, determine citizenship status, or shed light on relationships between people. It all will depend on on what kind of court records that your ancestors" names appear in. For Definitions of all court trems see the Genealogy Encyclopedia.

Georgia County records vary widely from county to county in both level of quality and quantity. One can find several kinds of court records that are in all likelihood to have details relevant to your genealogical research.

Georgia County records can vary vastly from county to county both in quality and quantity. Some are already very carefully maintained and some have been substantially abused and overlooked. A number of Georgia records have purely disappeared. For genealogists performing research in Georgia you will find no effective replace for an on-site research of county court house records.

Georgia is divided into 159 counties. Georgia has the second largest number of counties of any state. Each county serves as the local level of government within its borders. Under the Georgia State Constitution, all of its counties are granted home rule to deal with problems that are purely local in nature.

This list of county and city government links is limited to government-maintained websites. If you know of a Georgia county that has an official government web site but is not linked, or if the link is in error, please send us an email so we may edit our database. Georgia State Government is located in Atlanta.

State of Georgia County & City Government Links
County Government County Seat Government County Government County Seat Government
Appling Baxley Jefferson Louisville
Atkinson Pearson Jenkins Millen
Bacon Alma Johnson Wrightsville
Baker Newton Jones Gray
Baldwin Milledgeville Lamar Barnesville
Banks Homer Lanier Lakeland
Barrow Winder Laurens Dublin
Bartow Cartersville Lee Leesburg
Ben Hill Fitzgerald Liberty Hinesville
Berrien Nashville Lincoln Lincolnton
Bibb Macon Long Ludowici
Bleckley Cochran Lowndes Valdosta
Brantley Nahunta Lumpkin Dahlonega
Brooks Quitman Macon Oglethorpe
Bryan Pembroke Madison Danielsville
Bulloch Statesboro Marion Buena Vista
Burke Waynesboro McDuffie Thomson
Butts Jackson McIntosh Darien
Calhoun Morgan Meriwether Greenville
Camden Woodbine Miller Colquitt
Candler Metter Mitchell Camilla
Carroll Carrollton Monroe Forsyth
Catoosa Ringgold Montgomery Mount Vernon
Charlton Folkston Morgan Madison
Chatham Savannah Murray Chatsworth
Chattahoochee Cusseta Muscogee Columbus
Chattooga Summerville Newton Covington
Cherokee Canton Oconee Watkinsville
Clarke Athens Oglethorpe Lexington
Clay Fort Gaines Paulding Dallas
Clayton Jonesboro Peach Fort Valley
Clinch Homerville Pickens Jasper
Cobb Marietta Pierce Blackshear
Coffee Douglas Pike Zebulon
Colquitt Moultrie Polk Cedartown
Columbia Appling Pulaski Hawkinsville
Cook Adel Putnam Eatonton
Coweta Newnan Quitman Georgetown
Crawford Knoxville Rabun Clayton
Crisp Cordele Randolph Cuthbert
Dade Trenton Richmond Augusta
Dawson Dawsonville Rockdale Conyers
De Kalb Bainbridge Schley Ellaville
Decatur Decatur Screven Sylvania
Dodge Eastman Seminole Donalsonville
Dooly Vienna Spalding Griffin
Dougherty Albany Stephens Toccoa
Douglas Douglasville Stewart Lumpkin
Early Blakely Sumter Americus
Echols Statenville Talbot (COC) Talbotton
Effingham Springfield Taliaferro Crawfordville
Elbert Elberton Tattnall Reidsville
Emanuel Swainsboro Taylor Butler
Evans Claxton Telfair McRae
Fannin Blue Ridge Terrell Dawson
Fayette Fayetteville Thomas Thomasville
Floyd Rome Tift Tifton
Forsyth Cumming Toombs Lyons
Franklin Carnesville Towns Hiawassee
Fulton Atlanta Treutlen Soperton
Gilmer Ellijay Troup Lagrange
Glascock Gibson Turner Ashburn
Glynn Brunswick Twiggs Jeffersonville
Gordon Calhoun Union Blairsville
Grady Cairo Upson Thomaston
Greene Greensboro Walker Lafayette
Gwinnett Lawrenceville Walton Monroe
Habersham Clarkesville Ware Waycross
Hall Gainesville Warren Warrenton
Hancock Sparta Washington Sandersville
Haralson (COC) Buchanan Wayne Jesup
Harris Hamilton Webster Preston
Hart Hartwell Wheeler (COC) Alamo
Heard Franklin White Cleveland
Henry McDonough Whitfield Dalton
Houston Perry Wilcox Abbeville
Irwin (COC) Ocilla Wilkes Washington
Jackson Jefferson Wilkinson Irwinton
Jasper Monticello Worth Sylvester
Jeff Davis Hazlehurst
Copyright © 2014,