Search For Your Ancestors in Historical Documents




Trinity County, California

Trinity County

Trinity County was founded on February 18, 1850 as one of the original 27 counties (administered by Shasta County until 1851) . This county was named for the Trinity River, named in 1845 by Major Pearson B. Reading, who was under the mistaken impression that the stream emptied into Trinidad Bay. Trinity is the English version of Trinidad.

The Trinity County Seat is located in Weaverville also, the county government website is

Areas bordering to Trinity County are Mendocino County (south), Humboldt County (west), Siskiyou County (north), Shasta County (east), Tehama County (southeast) .

There are no incorporated Cities and towns located in Trinity County. Census-designated places include Hayfork, Lewiston, Weaverville.

Other Communities in Trinity County include Big Bar, Burnt Ranch, Douglas City, Hyampom, Junction City, Salyer, Trinity Center .

Since its creation Trinity County boundries have changed to include these:

  1. Most of Trinity County has been in the county since 1850.
  2. A significant portion of the original Trinity County territory was moved to Klamath County in 1851 and then in 1855 returned to Trinity County.
  3. Territory in Trinity County from 1850 to 1859 was in Mendocino County from 1859 to 1860 when it was returned to Trinity County.
  4. Territory was in Mendocino County from 1850 to 1872 when it was added to Trinity County.
  5. Territory which at one time was in Trinity County is now in Del Norte County, Humboldt County, and Siskiyou County

Trinity County vital records can be found at the California Office of Vital Records has copies of birth, marriage, divorce and death records. There is a fee for each copy requested. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in California for current fees and application process.

You can search online for Trinity County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also Order Electronically Online or can download an application for California Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Trinity County consists of Federal Census Schedules to guide in looking into your family tree. Federal Population Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragment), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940.

Trinity Co. Mortality Schedules can be found for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Trinity Co. Industry and Agriculture can be obtained for 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880. Trinity Co. Union Veterans Schedules is available for 1890. One can find free online and printable census forms to help you with your research.

Trinity County Societies and Family History Resources

A list of Trinity County Historical  and Genealogical Societies, Forums, Message Boards, Libraries, Archives.

Trinity County Courthouse and Government Records

Trinity County Courthouse

Researchers often overlook the advantages of Trinity County court, probate, and land files as a useful resource of genealogical details. Hidden away in California courthouses and archives everywhere tend to be the dreams and frustrations of the many California inhabitants.

The possibilities are great that your potential forefathers have left a detailed document of at least a number of facets of their lives in the Trinity County court records. Even if your ancestors is not mentioned in a Court case, contemplate all of the other methods that could have lead to her or him showing up in court records.

Courthouse History - After an 1860 grand jury reported that "bedbugs had invaded the offices of the sheriff and the clerk, had defiled the records and in several instances had even attacked a judge on the bench," Trinity County supervisors began to consider moving from the old Weaverville courthouse, which was shared with the Masonic Lodge. In 1865, the county purchased this brick building that then housed offices, hotel rooms, and the Apollo Saloon, which boasted the first piano in the county. The courthouse is still in use and serves as a centerpiece of Weaverville's Historic District.

Some counties encompass land settled in the eighteenth century; their records pre-date county formation. Land transactions and vital records recorded in the county are at the county recorder's office. The county clerk general has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be in either place, depending on how filed.

The following facts indicates whatever marriage, birth, death, land, wills, and court records will be in Trinity County. The years indicated below are considered the first widely known records for this county. For the first year of organization, Trinity County was attached to Shasta County. Land was later added from counties Klamath (1855) and Mendocino (1860, 1872).

Remember to get in touch with the clerk's dept to verify hours, mailing address, fees and other specifics prior to visiting or seeking information because of in some cases changing contact details. The Department Offices DO NOT DO RESEARCH. The data files are readily available to interested parties, barring private issues. A good number of employees will assist persons in obtaining the materials, but it's up to the person to do the research.
  • Trinity County Courthouse (all departments listed below are located here, unless otherwise noted)
  • Trinity County Recorder-Clerk is s responsible for examination and recording of all documents presented for recording that deal with establishing ownership of land in the County or as required by statute; administers the real property transfer tax law and maintains a permanent record and indexes of all documents for public viewing plus providing certified copies requested by the public; recording of all lawful documents such as deeds, deeds of trust, judgments, liens, affidavits, Uniform Commercial Code Financial Statements, etc; and the filing of Births, Deaths, and Marriages.
    • Address: 11 Court Street; Mail to: P.O. Box 1215, Weaverville, CA 96093
    • Phone: (530) 623-1215
    • Birth / Death Records: 1873
    • Marriage Records: 1857
    • Land Records: 1855
  • Trinity County Clerk of Superior Court has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be here or in the Recorders Office, depending on how it was filed.
    • Probate Records: 1860 
    • Court Records: 1854 
  • Trinity County County Treasurer / Tax Collector
  • Local Registrar of Births and Deaths, 11 Court Street, Courthouse, Mail to: P.O. Box 1215, Weaverville, CA 96093-1215; Office (530) 623-1215

Trinity County Links

The following are web links to Genealogy, Records and Resources relevant to Trinity County. A majority of these genealogy links fall into 3 categories: Business Sites, Private Sites or Organization Sites. Some have free access some require a payment. This is basically a listing which has been gathered or submitted. I do not recommend or promote one genealogy site above another. Feel free to suggest your own preferred Trinity County genealogy or family history associated sites.

Trinity Co. CA Books, Newspapers & Publications

Trinity Co. CA Birth, Marriage & Death Records

Trinity Co. CA Court, Probate Land and Tax Records

Trinity Co. CA Census Records

Trinity Co. CA Cemeteries & Graveyards

Trinity Co. CA Church & Bible Records

Trinity Co. CA Family Websites, Pictures & Histories

Trinity Co. CA General and History Websites

Trinity Co. CA Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers

Trinity Co. CA Military Records

Copyright © 2014,